How To Get Things Done Easily In Less Time

in GEMS4 years ago

Sometimes when you wake up late, check your social media, open youtube and notice that it is already evening.

Don’t you hate those kind of days?

I do.

And it happened that I had to go through a day like that today.

I am still wondering how I went from watching productivity videos on youtube to clips of disturbing movies.

Guess youtube algorithms are working too good for me.

Even though it doesn't happen frequently, it pisses me off.

And I want to be as productive as I can.

Untitled drawing.png

Source: Pixabay

The problem was-- I had a lot of plans for my day.

Obviously, I was not able to do much today. And that irritates me.

In the evening, I looked for the best ways to get things done easily. The techniques through which I can do more things in limited amount of time.

Usually, I make a to-do list for my daily chores.

The problem with to-do list is I can write 100 things in my list and still don’t do even one thing at all.

It doesn’t matter how many things I write in my list.

What matters is my actions, my outcomes, how many tasks I am able to complete.


Untitled drawing 1.png


People have dozens of things to do, but they have no idea about their next action.You can’t manage anything else as efficiently as your actions.

Time, data, things to do, all depends on external factors. But action depends on you. You can always manage your action.

So, I focused on my actions to make my evening more productive.


Untitled drawing 2.png


Lack of time is not the major issue, lack of clarity is.

If you are clear about what you have to do, you can easily do it with a little bit of planning.

The first step is to get more clarity is to manage your commitments.

Just putting a number of things on the to-do list does not work.

You have to put things on a scheduler. You need to dedicate a specific time for a particular task and let your mind have some space to think creatively.

If your mind is all cluttered with the thoughts of what needs to be done, it can not think at all.

Untitled drawing 3.png

Source: Pixabay

Once you write down all the things you want to do, the next step is to define them.

Define exactly what you need to achieve and the action you need to take so that you achieve your goals.


❖ Collect data.


Collect all the data you have about your task.

Write what needs to be done. Collect as much information as you can about the task and then write it down too.

Specify all the facts you know about it.

The reason for doing this is to get things out of your head.

And you will know exactly what you want to do.


❖ Process.


Analyse the process.

What’s the next action that needs to be done?

Knowing what you want to do is not enough, knowing what you are going to do is enough.

So, write down what are the actions you will take to complete your task. And how much time it will take.

If you review your activities frequently, you will be assured that you are going in the right direction with right pace.

When you have to do something, your brain keeps you nagging about it.

But if you write it down and set a reminder to it, you can forget about it and stay at ease that the reminder will remind you about it.


❖ Do.


The final step is to take action and complete your daily goals.



Maybe you are wondering, what's the benefit of all this planning?

Well, this process helps me to declutter my brain from irrelevant thoughts.

Once I have a peaceful mind, I can work more smoothly. Stay focused on my work and stay creative.

Figure out what my next step is going to be.

However, if I don't plan well and I have a lot to do, my brain will freeze and I won't be able to do anything at all.

Writing down all the tasks helps me to keep myelf organised.

For example, if I talk about today, I had to write an article on hive, find two relevant topics to discuss about on @hive-india, spend 1-2 hour at night to hangout on Hive India channel, spend some time with my family and some other small stuff.

This sounds a lot for me.

So, what I did was I break it down to writing for one hour, hangout for 1 hour, spending time with family for one hour and taking an hour break in between.

More or less, I was able to adjust most of things even if I hadn't done anything at all till evening.

As a result, I am getting things done.

What about you?

Sort:  

Productive post from a productive guy.
It happens to me sometimes so I can relate to it.

thanks bro.

When you have to do something, your brain keeps you nagging about it.

Very true I have things nagging me at the moment.

I am very good at procrastination. My hubby gets cross with me because of that.
One of my not so good traits.

By following your advice it can be avoided.

Hey, thanks a lot....

I feel like everyone faces that eerie thing when our brain keeps naaging us.

By writing down thing we worry too much about, we can definitely decrease it.

Helped me a lot. I hope it will help you too.