Visiting "La Portada"

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

Hello #Hivers!
Today I want to share some pictures about this very famous place in Antofagasta, Chile, called "La Portada". Before continuing, I'll tell you a little bit of its history taken from Wikipedia:
Fuente

"La Portada" is a natural arch on the coast of Chile, located in the north of Antofagasta. It is one of fifteen natural monuments included among the protected areas of Chile. It has a base of black andesite stone, around which are arranged marine sedimentary rocks, a stratum of yellowing sandstone, and layers of the remaining fossils of shells dating back 35 to 2 million years ago. All this was formed during a long process of marine erosion.

IMG_20190702_144016837.jpg

The arch of La Portada is 43 m (140 ft) high, 23 m (75 ft) wide, and 70 m (230 ft) long.The arch is surrounded by coastal cliffs that were also formed by marine erosion. They reach a maximum height of 52 m above sea level.

On 5 October 1990, it was declared a natural monument. Since March 2003, this natural monument remains closed due to a landslide of an important part of its cliffs, which blocked access to its beach. For this reason, a remodeling of the access route and its surroundings is planned."
Fuente
I didn't plan to visit this monument. I had only been living here for two weeks and I didn't even know this place existed. Why did I go there? Well, my cousin and I met with a friend/student downtown that day (a year ago). This man gently accepted to give me a job offer in order to be able to apply for a Temporary VISA. After we did all the paperwork, he offered to drive us home. While we were on his truck, he started narrating historic events about Chile, especially Antofagasta. It was a very good talk! He asked us if we had visited "La Portada" which is a very popular place here (there a lot of stores, cafés; etc with that name). As we hadn't done it, he decided to take us.
IMG_20190702_143959200.jpg
The first picture I took when I arrived.
IMG_20190702_144740051.jpg
Thanks to the guy in the middle, Luis, I could apply for a VISA. Forever grateful! (I'm still waiting for its approval, though)

When I arrived, I was speechless. As a sealover, I was blown away by this marvelous view.
IMG_20190702_144248131.jpg

The sound of waves, the cold breeze, the singing of the birds; gave me such a peaceful feeling.

However, this beautiful place can be dangerous and has a dark background. Some people have committed suicide here and also, even though the beach access is closed, many have found the way to go down and sadly, have drowned. It's a lonely location so if you go, try not to stay long and if you go on a car, keep an eye on it.
Thanks God nothing bad happened when we were there. We stayed around 20 minutes I think. I hope that in a near future, police officers or security guards could be around there in order tourists and people in general could visit this place with no fear. But overall, if you ever come to Antofagasta, it's a great place to take gorgeous pictures and relax a little bit with the wind and the sound of the ocean.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Amazing photographs. That last one, just impressive. You should try the same shot at different times of the day, different "sky". It must be interesting to see the changes.

Thank you! Yes, I was really scared on that last shot hehe. I thought I was going to fall down. Thanks for the recommedation. The sunset should be gorgeous there. I would like to go again!

Really good pictures. As you say at the end, the place looks scary. I wonder why, it being a tourist attraction, they do not provide some security for visitors. I loved the last picture. Had you been moving your arms, it would have looked as if you were commanding the waves

I don't know why but they should because this is an emblematic place here. I have read that Chileans have asked for this for a long time.

Hahahaha, it would have looked pretty great! But I was very scared. I even took a while to walk towards that part.

That's definitely a beautiful place.😍 I would like to visit it someday. Thanks for sharing.🤗
Beautiful photos by the way.👍

It is indeed! Thanks for reading😀

Congratulations @marvic-1194! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 comments. Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hola, un lugar muy bonito, coloca la etiqueta de la comunidad travel feed donde estos post son más visibles. Cosulta esta comuniidad.

Gracias por leerlo y por la recomendación. Ya lo hago 🙂