Hive Creative Contest - My Favorite Things!

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

The keys to our memories

2020-08-14 08.49.53 1.jpg

I like to think that the most valuable objects are those that, regardless of the path traveled to reach the shelves or the corner of the house they occupy, are meant to keep the little stories that have become keys to our memories. That is why I saw this contest as a warm welcome to a platform that is responsible for bringing out the best in each of the people on it, and a beautiful opportunity to talk a littlemore about myself. Before mentioning the first things that came to my mind when I read the title and that instantly warmed my heart, I must thank my uncles @wagneruno and @machiqui63 for recommending the beautiful and fun dynamics of @zord189, to whom I thank the opportunity to detail each of the things that surround me and that mixed, have made me who I am.

A silent reminder

2020-08-13 09.11.27 1.jpg

This briefcase occupies a little corner in my house, I will not lie to you saying that we keep it intact and without a particle of dust. Many times I forget his existence, until walking around the house while trying to organize my ideas, I run into him again. Probably for you it is an old and worn briefcase, but for me it is the object that brought to Venezuela the dreams of a better life and the most precious memories of my father, squeezed between some photos and the few clothes that fit in it. This briefcase reminds me that I am not only made of the things that I have lived, it reminds me that as the daughter of an immigrant I am also made of the dreams of all those who came before me, of Caribbean accents different from mine and of past traditions of waters that I have not yet known. It reminds me that despite everything, life always offers us opportunities to be happy, even in the least imagined places.

Ideas that accompany

2020-08-13 09.10.53 1 (1).jpg

Theater plays, books on baroque art, also poetry books and historical novels. This is a fragment of my library, this is the compendium of all the ideas that I have loved and that little by little have helped me to build my opinions and my phrases of encouragement, my way of acting and how I see the world. I wish I could tell you which one I prefer, but I am very indecisive to do so, and each one has accompanied me when I have needed it most. That is why my library, that small space with crooked shelves and small ornaments that I have been given, is one of my favorite views.

An object that taught me how to feel

2020-08-13 09.10.18 1.jpg

This is the piano on which my mother practiced her musical exercises, and the one that, during my childhood, became my favorite company after school. For different reasons I put it aside, however, I can say that each of the notes that I played in my childhood stayed with me. This instrument helped me discover a new way of feeling the world and all my emotions, through melodies and arpeggios, as well as to understand that beauty is not only seen; it touches our interior, just like each of the piano keys is played.

Maybe I could live without these things, but I think that I wouldn't be who I am today if they hadn't occupied the corner that still belongs to them; and that's what I like the most about each one of them.

Thanks for reading my list! I like to think that we all have at least one key to our memories in the objects that surround us.

IMG_20200814_014801.jpg

This is an entry for: