Memoir Monday: It's not the appearance, it's the essence

in GEMS2 months ago


All images are from my personal gallery

It's not the appearance, it's the essence

Thinking back and rewinding the cassette, I have always had a good relationship with clothes. Since I was very young I was very aware of fashion because my older sister and an aunt used to buy magazines like Cosmopolita, Coqueta, Vogue, Elle and Hola where we could see what the trends of the moment were.

I grew up in the 80's so I had a lot of influence from pop culture: colorful clothes, sometimes baggy or too tight, gelled hair, lots of plastic jewelry, heavy makeup and colorful bandanas for my hair. She was a teenager who imitated not only the way big stars like Madonna and Cyndi Lauper dressed; she also imitated their dance steps. At every party I went to I imitated the choreography of these singers and I even won several awards for it.

There was a time when a group of us girls would get together to exchange clothes. At that time, my mother bought a sewing machine and every week I would tell her to make me a new garment. It was the time of “lambada”, a trend that not only made a dance fashionable, but also a very feminine way of dressing that consisted of wearing short skirts, flat cloth shoes and a short blouse. I don't remember how many skirts my mother made and how many blouses, but there were many.

I notice that I have always been very feminine when it comes to dressing, so much so that there came a time when I used to wear a lot of dresses. Cumaná is a hot city and it lends itself to wear cool and colorful clothes. It is strange, for example, that someone wears a jacket or linen or wool clothes, even if you wear boots, people may look strange. Here, however, women prefer to wear blouses, flannels and sneakers.

Wearing dresses and long hair are two of my biggest trademarks as a person. Only when I was a child I had short hair and the dress is one of the garments, formal and informal, short or long, that I wear the most.

Nowadays, I wear some clothes that may be fashionable, as long as they fit me well. I know my body and I know my age (I'm 50), so I only wear clothes that go with my style, that I feel comfortable in. I like it when people tell me: “I knew you had arrived, Nancy: the air smells like you” or I knew you were coming down the stairs because “I heard the sound of your sandal heels”. Even some family and friends have confessed that they can't see a dress in a clothing store because they remember me.

Just as some writers have their style of writing, so some of us have our style of dressing. And that style comes with time, when you've tried what doesn't work for you and what does. My style is fresh, colorful, feminine and vibrant: very much like me.

This is my participation this week for our great friend @ericvancewalton's initiative: Memoir monday. If you want to participate, here's the link to the invitation post.

All images are free of charge and the text is my own, translated in Deepl

Thank you for reading and commenting. Until a future reading, friends

Sort:  

Congratulations @nancybriti1! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thanks for the information and the badge

You're a star @nancybriti1! Your daily posts are making a big impact and keeping Hive shining bright.

BTW, we noticed we miss your support for our proposal. Mays we ask you to check it out and consider supporting it?
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on this page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248.
Thank you!

As the well-known expression goes: I confirm it! 😀

Thanks for your comment, @josemalavem. It would be interesting for you to join this initiative. You are invited. Hugs

Many thanks to the @ecency team, especially to our friend @mnurhiver

You are welcome, my brother.

Your words have such a way of creating vivid scenes in the reader's mind. I could picture you in those dance competitions. Oddly, I just heard Cyndi Lauper's music last night on a Netflix show we were watching. Fashion has a way of allowing us to express our individuality when we're younger. I've just recently started wearing polo and linen shirts again in the summertime. I hadn't done that since I was in my early twenties.

You must look very handsome in a linen shirt. There are items of clothing that never go out of style and the Polo shirt is one of them. An excellent Tuesday, my friend. Hugs