Culinary expressions of love / Expresiones culinarias de amor

in GEMS2 years ago

COVER-amor-culinario.jpg

It is a well-known saying that "the shortest way to the heart is through the stomach", which originates from an outdated society in which women had to cook for men and keep them happy with their variety of dishes.

Es bien conocido el dicho de que “el camino más corto al corazón es a través del estómago”, el cual se origina en una ya caducada sociedad en la que la mujer debía encargarse de cocinar para el hombre y mantenerlo feliz con su variedad de platillos.

My mom took this very seriously. She had towers of cookbooks, and was the type to cut out the recipes that came on the back of flour packages. Her passion for making us happy with food even extended to desserts, and whenever it was time to eat she would prepare not one, but two kinds of dishes, since she was the only vegetarian in the family.

Mi mamá se tomaba esto muy en serio. Tenía torres de libros de cocina, y era de las que recortaban las recetas que venían en la parte de atrás de los empaques de harina. Su pasión por hacernos felices con la comida se extendía incluso a los postres, y cada vez que era hora de comer preparaba no uno, sino dos tipos de platillo, ya que ella era la única vegetariana de la familia.

SNOW_20211228_155143_556.jpg

Ingredients for Orange Chicken

Ingredientes de Pollo a la naranja


20210324_204458_789.jpg

Chicken sautéed with tomato, onion and paprika; rice and fried plantain slices

Pollo salteado con tomate, cebolla y pimentón; arroz y tajadas fritas de plátano


20210407_232320_101.jpg

Sauteed meat with vegetables in spicy sauce, rice and boiled plantain

Carne salteada con vegetales en salsa picante, arroz y plátano hervido.


My sister inherited that passion, but I went to the opposite side, and I practically abhor it. I find cooking boring, stressful and complex. Although I have a certain instinct for achieving wonderful flavors, I limit myself to preparing what is strictly required for my survival.

Mi hermana heredó esa pasión, pero yo me fui al lado opuesto, y prácticamente lo aborrezco. Cocinar me resulta aburrido, estresante y complejo. A pesar de que tengo cierto instinto para lograr maravillosos sabores, me limito a preparar aquello estrictamente requerido por mi supervivencia.

And so I let my partner know when I met him. "I don't like to cook," I warned, although I showed him that I was quite capable of it in any case, and that things would be tasty anyway.

Y así le hice saber a mi pareja cuando lo conocí. “No me gusta cocinar”, advertí, aunque le demostré que en cualquier caso era muy capaz de hacerlo, y que las cosas quedarían ricas de todas maneras.

20210414_214714_776.jpg

Beef with vegetables in sweet and sour sauce, rice and eggplant slices with tomato sauce and ham

Carne con vegetales en salsa agridulce, arroz y rodajas de berenjena con salsa de tomate y jamón


20210510_221822_620.jpg

Shawarma, falafel and tahini

Shawarma, falafel y tahini


20210519_223424_855.jpg

Venezuelan pastelitos

Pastelitos venezolanos


However, after 10 years of relationship, there is very little I have had to cook. To my greatest good fortune, I fell in love with a boy who, had he not decided to be an artist, his second choice was to be a chef.

Sin embargo, después de 10 año de relación, es muy poco lo que he tenido que cocinar. Para la mayor de mis suertes, me enamoré de un muchacho que, de no haber decidido ser artista, su segunda opción era ser chef.

From a young age he was excited to help his mother in her baking business, and as soon as he was old enough to cook, he dedicated himself to learning how to surpass his parents' dishes in taste and even in presentation.

Desde jovencito se emocionaba con ayudar a su mamá en su negocio de repostería, y, apenas tuvo edad para cocinar, se dedicó a aprender a superar en sabor (y hasta en presentación) a los platillos de sus progenitores.

20210527_211708_181.jpg

Fluffy pancakes

Panquecas esponjosas


20210608_224127_453.jpg

Cast-iron skillet pizza

Pizza al sartén


20210904_201438_202.jpg

Chicken in spicy paprika sauce, sautéed rice and salad.

Pollo en salsa de paprika picante, arroz salteado y ensalada.


When we fell in love he got an even greater impetus to develop his passion. He not only cooked for me as a great expression of affection, but also for something more crucial: to take care of my health.

Al enamorarnos él consiguió un impulso aún mayor para desarrollar su pasión. No sólo se dedicaba a cocinar para mí como una gran expresión de cariño, sino además para algo más crucial: cuidar mi salud.

As soon as he started spending more time with me, he noticed that I used to skip meals, or leave half of my plate untouched even when I served myself small portions. My anxiety problems, coupled with my lack of motivation for cooking, meant that I paid minimal attention to my diet, a situation that in the long run could seriously jeopardize my well-being.

Apenas comenzó a convivir más a menudo conmigo se dio cuenta de que yo solía saltarme comidas, o dejar la mitad del plato intacto aun cuando me servía porciones pequeñas. Mis problemas de ansiedad, sumado a mi poca motivación por la cocina, hacían que le prestara la mínima atención a mi alimentación, una situación que a largo plazo podía atentar seriamente con mi bienestar.

PicsArt_08-14-10.46.41.jpg

Venezuelan style chinese rice and boiled plantains

Arroz chino estilo venezolano y plátano hervido


PicsArt_10-18-11.36.09.jpg

Beef stew with onion and tomato, vegetables sautéed in soy sauce and rice

Carne guisada con cebolla y tomate, vegetales salteados en salsa de soya y arroz


SNOW_20220129_210449_023.jpg

Cassava fritters

Buñuelos de yuca


So, Ender took it upon himself to cook for me whenever possible, and, knowing that the more colorful and diverse the dish, the more motivation I would have to eat, he set about exploring a variety of ingredients, vegetables, and seasoning combinations to make each meal not only balanced but also unique, to surprise me and make it irresistible to eat.

Así pues, Ender se tomó la tarea de cocinar para mí siempre que fuera posible, y, sabiendo que mientras más colorido y diverso fuera el platillo, más motivación tendría yo para comer, se dedicó a explorar toda una variedad de ingredientes, vegetales, y combinaciones de condimentos para que cada comida fuese no sólo balanceada sino también única, para sorprenderme y que se me hiciera irresistible comer.

One of his habits, before starting to prepare, is to ask me how I want him to chop the vegetables: "Do you want squares or circles?" Then I come out with some witticism like "Triangles!" and he takes the joke seriously and hands me a dish whose vegetables have a pyramidal shape.

Una de sus costumbres, antes de comenzar a preparar, es preguntarme cómo quiero que pique los vegetales: “¿Quieres cuadros, o círculos?”. Entonces yo le salgo con alguna ocurrencia como “Triángulos!” y él se toma el chiste con toda seriedad y me entrega un platillo cuyos vegetales tienen forma piramidal.

20210627_160102_712.jpg

Ingredients of Chicken with vegetables in sweet and sour sauce

Ingredientes de Pollo con vegetales en salsa agridulce


SNOW_20211224_225916_032.jpg

Baked chicken

Pollo al horno


IMG_20210624_201605.jpg

Sautéed chicken with cauliflower; boiled plantain, rice and avocado.

Pollo salteado con coliflor; plátano hervido, arroz y aguacate.


I admire his enthusiasm for cooking and his constant desire to innovate. He knows how to create succulent dishes even when the fridge seems to be empty, and when he has some economic freedom he embarks on transcending his culinary frontiers, replicating Indian, Arab, Chinese, Japanese dishes and of any other culture that catches his interest.

Admiro su entusiasmo para la cocina y sus constantes ganas de innovar. Sabe crear platillos suculentos aún cuando la nevera parece estar vacía, y cuando tiene un poco de libertad económica se embarca en trascender sus fronteras culinarias, replicando manjares hindúes, árabes, chinos, japoneses y cualquier otra cultura que le genere interés.

As if that were not enough, he is not stingy with his knowledge. He likes to teach what he knows and share his recipes and latest discoveries. He even makes a point of teaching some things to me, so he can be sure that I will continue to eat well even when, for some reason of fate, he can't be by my side.

Como si fuera poco, no es mezquino con su conocimiento. Le gusta enseñar lo que sabe y compartir sus recetas y últimos descubrimientos. Incluso se empeña en enseñarme algunas cosas a mí, para tener la seguridad de que yo seguiré comiendo bien aún cuando, por alguna razón del destino, él no pueda estar a mi lado.

IMG_20210716_150032.jpg

Skewers of eggplant slices, tomato, chicken and avocado; pasta and boiled plantain

Pinchos de rodajas de berenjena, tomate, pollo y aguacate; pasta y plátano hervido


IMG_20210809_204220.jpg

Cast-iron skillet pizza

Pizza al sartén


IMG_20211006_172018.jpg

Eggplant snack with Neapolitan sauce and grilled cheese.

Snack de berenjena con salsa napolitana y queso gratinado.


"Full belly, happy heart", is another famous phrase that I can apply to this story, and whose veracity I can vouch for, because every time Ender spoils me with his culinary expressions of love, it is as if my life is struck by a sparkling ray of happiness.

“Pancita llena, corazón contento”, es otra famosa frase que puedo aplicar en este tema, y de cuya veracidad doy garantía, porque cada vez que Ender me consiente con sus expresiones culinarias de amor, es como si a mi vida la impactara un chispeante rayito de felicidad.

IMG_20220123_163459.jpg

Traditional sandwich

Sanduchito tradicional


Orange Chicken-1.jpg

Orange chicken and rice with vegetables

Pollo a la naranja y arroz con vegetales


PicsArt_01-16-11.18.10.jpg

Sauteed pasta with chicken, vegetables and egg, spicy sweet and sour sauce.

Pasta salteada con pollo, vegetales y huevo, salsa agridulce picante.


All the images you saw in this post are photos of dishes prepared by @enderlouis , with lots and lots of love!

Todos las imágenes que viste en este post son fotos de platillos preparados por @enderlouis , con mucho, mucho amor!

SNOW_20220112_174955_442.jpg

Ender and me ❤️// Ender y yo ❤️

Witchy-divider-1.png

If you found this post entertaining or interesting please don't forget to Vote and Reblog 💞

Si te pareció entretenido o interesante este post por favor no olvides Votar y hacer Reblog 💞

Thanks for visiting Ni de Cabeza! Come back soon!

¡Gracias por visitar Ni de Cabeza! ¡Vuelve pronto!

🍀🦄🎢


Firma-nidecabeza.jpg

Social-Media-1080.jpg


Créditos - Credits

FIRMA y MARCA / SIGNATURE and BRANDING
Escobita voladora / Flying broom - Vector de Dibujos animados creado por brgfx - www.freepik.es
Sombrero con cuaderno / Witch hat with book - Vector de Libro creado por brgfx - www.freepik.es
Castillo volador / Flying castle - by my best in collections - see and press 👍🔖 en Pixabay
APLICACIONES / APPS USED
Adobe photoshop
DeepL free version