TAKING HIVE MORE SERIOUSLY

in GEMS4 years ago

It's true, I am.

It's interesting that shortly after getting involved in HIVE, we also received a hive of bees. Rather appropriate in our opinion, and we are very excited about both,

Actually, this is just a nuc, but I've got a hive too. A couple of friends contributed to us getting our first colony of bees here, so we are moving on to the next chapter of our lives... as beekeepers. The cool thing about having bees is that they'll swarm and then you can add to your bee collection. Some friends of ours wanted about six hives, and then after some of them swarmed, they ended up with thirteen different colonies, so they offered us one. To get a free colony of bees is a huge blessing.

Now, we'll have to figure things out as we go. We've done some research, but obviously more will be required, and we'll get plenty of hands on experience too! I've got to switch them from the nuc to a actual hive shortly, hopefully without getting stung. I think @craigcryptoking will be happy to hear the news!

A COUPLE OF HIVE PHOTOS

Until next time…

Make today special!


Sort:  

Hive on! Here and in real life! :P

I'm not the type that get used to bee 🐝 maybe cos I'm scared of them cos they've once bitten me and I almost cry 😢 despite how old I am. Well you are a farmer and you are used to animals and ants 🐜

Spend the money on a veil/hood, some gloves, and a smoker at least. I use big coveralls for my suit and it works great. Look around as you can probably find used stuff easily. Welcome to the beekeeping world.

Very nice Bee Hive! Great idea and glad to see some #Hive themed art!

Been wanting to make something hive themed myself. But I'm struggling for time of late! Great to see someone is on it!

Ha ha ha... @papa-pepper, you should be more specific. You said "This is just a nuc, but I have a hive too"
When I googled 'nuc' it came back with all sorts of computer stuff, about a small form computer.
I added 'bees' to the search and it came back with nucleus and the light went on. 🤣
I congratulate you on your acquisition. Please take care of them, we need bees.
Post upped and reblogged.

btw, you may know this but they can tell if you
Are agitated or angry and will react to that.
I've rarely been stung, by bees or wasps,
Move slowly and calmly when around them

Thankfully I rarely get worked up, so hopefully they like my vibe. Thanks much!

Thankfully I rarely get worked up
Oh how I wish I could say that @papa-pepper

Ohhh, nice. Next up, honey! 🍯🐝🐝

COOL! Now you will have honey soon.

That title and the content inside.

No wonder @looftee likes you a lot.

And so do I.

Glad to hear it, LOL. Thanks!

Hehe! Your vlogs are epic.

Lol, you should watch some of his videos on youtube.

Excited for what’s in store for you in beekeeping!

Hello dear friend @ papa-pepper good afternoon
This is an activity that I would love to do at home, but I must learn how.

This year I have had many more bees than other years working in the garden, I uploaded some videos showing this novelty, I have to study how to install them in my house

I wish you a wonderful weekend

Tell me you have some PPE for bee keeping?!?

Where did you get your nuc?

I believe you live in Georgia? Me too, thinking of starting a hive too. Maybe I can get mine from the same place you got yours.

Haha, thank goodness you are not in Kathmandu or thereabouts looking for more ambitious hunting goals through your own psychedelic venture trying to collect honey. :D