You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pain and Swelling, Lessons, Puzzle, Paragliding School, Managing To Eat - Thursday

in GEMSlast year

This kind of mouth pain is the worst! For help with eating... if you have a pressure cooker, you can use it to cook just about anything into a delicious, easy to chew, mush. If you don't, cooking a meal for a whole day in a crock pot or dutch oven will work. Also, those 'nutrition shake' drinks that they make for seniors will keep you going, when food is just too difficult.

If you've never tried toothache plant, I recommend looking into it. The fresh plant will leave an unpleasant, 9V battery taste in your mouth, but it numbs like novocaine and reduces swelling. Made into a tea it's less effective at fighting pain, but still pretty good, and works just as well to reduce swelling.

Sort:  

I've been too stubborn to go back to my pea protein powder which I drink daily when I am more active. Today will likely be the day as the swelling in my cheeks is awful.

I've heard of toothache plant but never had any in the house. Probably something I should have for the boys as well.

We grow toothache plant regularly now, and I add it to every tea I make. It's really easy to grow, even indoors without extra light. The numbing effect of the fresh plant is at least twice as good as the strongest available OTC lidocaine products for mouth pain, and also has a highly stimulative effect on the salivary glands. The anti inflammatory effects are as good or better than ibuprofin. It also has a very noticeable stimulative effect on the circulatory system, which will promote healing and help keep you warm on cold days.

I've got some seeds on order from Baker Creek so will get them started when they get here. Thanks!