I came across this cool looking moth yesterday

in GEMS4 years ago

I came across the school looking more the other day. It was mostly a yellowy orange with what appeared to be black painted stripes and a little bit of red at the tips of the wings, in between the black.

ACA3BCBB59FA46DCA5403AB19D088849.jpeg
I went up to ring somebody’s doorbell and it was sitting on the spongy seal that sits between the door and the frame. I felt weird ringing the doorbell then taking a picture, but in my favor it took forever for the homeowner to answer the door.

Hypoprepia fucosa, or otherwise know as the Painted lichen moth. I had to ID it because I had no clue what it was. It doesn’t appear to be harmful. It looks like the larva form feeds on liking, moss, or algae. The word painted is a pretty good description of this insect.

After I took care of my customers needs and finish the job, I returned to look for them off in order to take a few pictures. It fell to the ground at that point and I found it near potted plant. I only took one other picture. I wasn’t going to torment the poor insect. I will really wanted to see it wings spread but some other time.

0C8797A957534593A286952106468E3D.jpeg

I think it’s cool to share pictures of interesting insects when I come across them. I take pictures of them but never think about posting them as often as maybe I should. I’ll try harder to share what I find.

Have a great day everyone and keep your eyes pealed for this moth!