You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Top 3 MUST HAVE Lockdown Essentials: Top 3 Monthly Contest-APRIL, 2020

in GEMS4 years ago

Welcome back to the contest for another round! Thanks for sharing all the great stats and thoughts with your post, as well. Here in Georgia we officially start a shelter-in-place order at 6pm this evening. Up to this point all the different counties and cities have had different orders, so I hope that helps to get everyone on the same page. As of right now it is supposed to end on the 13th, but I imagine it's going to be extended. We'll see.

I'm like you in that I usually keep pretty well stocked on a lot of basics anyway. I cook all my beans and grains from scratch, so generally have a nice store on hand of all kinds of lentils, black beans, chickpeas, farro, quiona, rice and the like. I'm glad I had re-stocked on my faves before all this hit as everyone else has started buying the same items I usually never have a problem purchasing! Cleaning items are a good one, as well, since they are also in short supply. I actually found some hand sanitizer packs that I had in goody bags from some running races in a drawer that was like finding gold! A thermometer is a good item, as well. I actually wasn't sure if we had one since it's just my boyfriend and I with no kiddos in the household. He said he does have one, but we haven't checked to see if the batteries work yet. Probably should add that to my list for today...

Crazy times right now for sure. I feel very lucky so far that I am able to keep working remote by taking clients online for sessions and doing zoom fitness classes for our corporate clients. It will indeed get dire for many people all over the world. Wishing you and yours good health and peace! Thanks again for joining us!

Sort:  

Hi @plantstoplanks. Thanks so much for your insight into how you plan. Shortly, I'll post about my stockade, as my family calls it. They used to laugh at me until one of them was laid off from their job a several years ago. Finding a comparable one with the same pay was hard. They relied on me for the most basic items. No more laughing.

Since then I have a pantry stocked full. My family knows they can come and shop at our house for groceries. My 2 freezers are also full.

One thing that I've always done is fill my freezers with the best Healthy Choice frozen meals recommended by the Diabetes association. Also Marie Callenders frozen meals are reasonably priced and delicious.

And what better way to prepare for the kids being at home than to have Di'Giornio Pizza. They are the best if not making a pizza from scratch. Keeping all your spices and cooking ingredients well stocked is a must too. On last trip to the grocers, the frozen vegetables and meals were almost depleted.

We really do have to treat this as sort of the aftermath of a natural disaster where you have to shelter in place. Most people don't ever get to experience one. But I live on the Gulf Coast. Hurricanes, tornadoes, flooding are a norm. So I have to be prepared, especially during Hurricane Season, June 1 - Nov. 30.

Sounds like you are fully prepared for whatever may come! I suppose that's one good thing about living in an area with sometimes hostile weather patterns--you have definitely learned some good tips and tricks! Getting another freezer a few years ago was awesome to get me into doing more freezing and stocking up. I cook a lot of beans in big batches to freeze for later, and love going fruit picking to stock up, as well. Though I am a bit sad that it looks like this year we won't be able to go strawberry picking like we do every year. I'll have to get a big flat from some of my local growers to still be able to fill my freezer back up since we're down to the last few cups frozen from last year!