Oliver The Kitten

in GEMS2 years ago

Oliver's friend is @luna30103 on Instagram. You should visit her profile and meet all her cat friends and the guy who takes the pictures and posts on Instagram and feeds her and her homeless friends. This painting is a gift to Stuart, who selflessly takes care of his neighborhood stray cats.

img_2385.heic

8 x 11 inches, mixed media paper, watercolor 12/02/21

Right now, you see a messy gray coat on the cat, and his proportions are messed up. I will be adding the top coat of hair, and the kitty will look nice and neat, and all his points will add up. You know, paw to shoulder, chin to nose to eye to ear.

I am working on the last layer of paint.

img_2372.heic

I am working on the foreground wet-on-wet. I'm trying to get a mossy-looking ground.

I also started defining and refining the leaves and beads. Compare the right side of the circle of beads in the middle to the left. I'm going to do that to all the beads. I'm also adding darker/lighter colors for depth. I'll finish up the hair on the cat last.

img_2348.jpg

I am applying the second layer of watercolor. I am mapping out leaf color and design to add the second layer of paint. In the third layer, I will add shadows and highlights. I use gouache, an opaque watercolor, to add the details and highlights. Usually, start with the eyes when painting. When they come alive, I know I'm in the right place, and the piece will turn out.

img_2339.heic

I will be adding opaque watercolor called gouache for details. When working with watercolor, you work from light to dark, adding layers as you go. You can work wet on wet, which causes a defused look, or work in extreme detail painting over dry paint.

img_2332.jpg

I listened to (audio while I work) "Snow Crash" by Neal Stephenson.

The story is about the metaverse and a virus that infects the net and the people in our 3d world. It is relevant to today's insanity in entertainment, news, and the internet.

I'm using a Dzi Bead design. From Wiki: "Dzi bead (Tib. གཟི།; pronounced "zee"; alternative spelling: gzi) is a type of stone bead of uncertain origin worn as part of a necklace and sometimes as a bracelet. In several Central Asian cultures, including that of Tibet, the bead is considered to provide positive spiritual benefit."

some_textA link to My Blog

Sort:  

Really I don't know water colour has to use from light to dark. Normally I can drawing. But can't paint nicely.

Watercolor is transparent and will blend into bottom layers of paint when wet paint is applied over dry paint. One has to be very careful when applying layers of color. It is one of the most challenging mediums to work with because the paint won't cover up or forgive mistakes. If you practice eventually, you will get to know the medium, and working with watercolor won't be like walking through knee-deep mud 😂😂❤️

Wow it's a pretty cool! A lovely kitten!
$WINE

CHeers~

Thank you, Oliver is growing up so fast; soon, he will be a cool cat 🐯


Congratulations, @theguruasia You Successfully Shared 0.200 WINEX With @reddust.
You Earned 0.200 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/2 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.400

Do the Dzi bead have those designs or is that your imagination? I ask because some of them look similar to Anglo-Saxon runes. I have several Buddhist bead brackets, but as they are all from Japan they either have Sanskrit on them (usually in the Siddhaṃscript, which is interesting because as I understand it they don't use that script any longer in India and it only survives in Japan and China) or various sutras in Chinese.

Snow Crash... ahh, I haven't read that since it was first released. I remember being very fascinated by the idea of memes and word viruses as given in the book. Anyway, another nice painting!

The beads are agate and primarily from Tibet. I don't know which region. They are used for meditation and protection. The natural designs have meaning, but they aren't related to Odin’s runes. I picked the designs from several websites that suit what I know about Stuart and his cat rescue work. I have some Bodhi seeds made with 108 seeds. The agate beads are beautiful, and many Western folks make the beads from clay or glass. So buyer beware!

I don't think I had noticed the background details so much, the cat comes to the foreground. I love his face, it was quite realistic, especially the whiskers, nose and eyes, all very cute!

The details on the cat, especially his eyes, are meant to grab your attention! I've got you now 😂😂😂🐯🐈 thank you ❤️

I remember that when I started to water color painted cat with background in my childhood I couldn't painted very good like this. Then after I got much effort for improve painting skills. Gradually I came some good level. After started to do my professional works, I missed that interesting skills. After looked your fabulous painting works I rememered my childhood. This is exactly beautiful work. This kitty seriously like live one. Cat's eyes looking infront of you.