The will

in GEMS12 days ago

“I swear on Mother’s grave, I will deal with you!”
image.png
This image
“And you think I’d sit back as well? Watch the board turn their backs against you!”

Living in harmony has been far from us since our parents died and here is the story.

Our dad died when we were barely adults but old enough to start living on our own. Before he died, he was a successful business mogul who was well-known but needless to say he was a disciplinarian, strict, and well-known for that. After his demise, he instructed that his Will be read only after our mother passed away which happened eight years after he died.

Now, we are twenty-eight.

The Will was read just at the said time and I must say it favoured neither of us. It was like a riddle or more like a puzzle that we had to put together before he could inherit his wealth. The instruction was that we get the chance to inherit everything that was in his name only if we could prove to be worthy of it all. This also includes convincing the board to become the CEO of the company.

However, if we fail to accomplish this, we’d lose everything that belonged to our father to a stranger; a stranger to whom the board believes was a worthy fit.

To me, this was unfair. While he was alive, he had never treated us with softness and even after his death, he was still hard on us.

Now, we were posed with the responsibility of convincing the board that we were a worthy future for the company.

This was the beginning of the rivalry between my older brother and I.

I watched as he exited the room, storming out of the door. This was meant to be a peaceful meeting between both of us but it ended up in an altercation, one that I do not see an ending.

I let out an angry and frustrated breath, ruffling my hair before dipping my hands into my left pocket to retrieve my phone.

I dialed the lawyer and he picked on the second ring.

“Good day, Mr Cowfer George,” he sounded professional, just like he always looks in his black suit.

“Uhmm…Good day, Lawyer,” I paused for a few seconds as what I had planned in my head to say skipped me through. I cleared my throat a few times as I tried to formulate the best ways to word my thoughts.

“Mr Cowfer, are you there?”

“Call me George, please.”

“Okay, George. Are you there?” he reframed and I rolled my eyes.

“Okay, this is it. I wanna ask you, do you think my dad’s will was reasonable? I mean, after waiting eight years, that was all it was all about? Come on!”

“Mr Cowfer…sorry George. I am just a lawyer to your Father. I believe it is important you know I do not have a say or a thought about my client’s Will.”

His words were direct. It upsets me more that it was so clear and understandable.

“Good!” I retorted.

“If you may excuse me, Mr…” I hung the call up on him before he completed his statement.

“To hell with you and your profession!!” I said as I tossed my phone aside.

I sighed heavily as this was more of a battle than I thought it would be. I guess I would just have to fight for what is mine.


It was Monday, the day for the final persuasion and the board would decide.

I stood in front of the skyscraper, raising my head and walking my eyes through the sky-level building.

“This is about to be mine!” I said to myself as I adjusted my suit jacket.

Just as I took a step forward to walk into the building, a black car zoomed in. I stopped and looked to my side where the car was parked. My elder brother stepped out of the car all dressed in black with a black shade perched firmly on the bridge of his nose.

He walked towards me, taking giant steps with an evil smile displayed on his lips.

“Hey, brother. Are you prepared to have your heart broken today?”

“I believe those words were meant to come from me!” I retorted and he scoffed before walking away from me.

The board was already sitting and all we had to do was go in one after the other to do our thing. I went in first and then my brother went in after.

I explained my aim to the board and how I was worthy to be the CEO but a subtle part of me was anxious as to who it was going to be but I remained hopeful.

A few hours later, we were both called in for their final resolution.

“Mr. Cowfer Duke and Mr. Cowfer George. We have listened to both of you for the past weeks and this is our final take,” the Chairman started.

“We’ve heard from both parties but you have failed to convince us. Your aim only focused on the financial aspect of the company without taking the employees and other sectors of the company into consideration. I hereby pronounce none of you as the CEO!”

My ears ran and I could not believe what I had just heard. None of us were the CEO of the company. Before we could take in the news, the board had dispersed.


This is my submission to the Inleo prompt suggestion for the month of May. The topic is "sibling rivalry". You can join here. This is the calendar
image (6).webp

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Why does it feel like I am watching penthouse? 😂. This one is just another war in life. You brother and Shakara 5&6.

Anyways I don’t you guys I blame the father that didn’t prepare you guys ahead of what’s coming. If he would hide that from his kids he should at least let them know what they will be competing for in the future.

But so poor of two of you too. You should also have stayed focus and learned from dad while he was alive.

I wish you best of luck starting over ooo. 😂 No ceo for both of you.

😂😂😂
@abdul-qudus you have finish all my characters 😂😂😂

You are brutal. I swear I will find you and I will mend you for this 🤣🤣🤣

No CEO for any of them. You didn't even allow the father to go scout free, stray bullet hit him from the grave too 😂😂😂

Abdul! Abdul!! Abdul!!! How many times did I call you? 😅😅

You called me 30 times oooo.

Where do you want to find me. Mr George! You better go find job instead of finding me. 😂.

Your dad have done you dirty. 😂. If it were me, I will go and wake him in the grave to change that will. Thank God I am not duke or george 🏃‍♂️

Ah, you have apor oooo 😂😂😂😂

You are still dissecting them 🤣🤣🤣

You will hear from my lawyer soon and it won't be Mr. George 😆😆

What’s the meaning of apor? 😂.

😂. It’s like I am even beginning to fall in love with your story. 😝

Lol, it's a street slang. I probably didn't spell it well. But it's used when you are trying to tell someone they have audacity.

Like they have mind ooo to be doing what they are doing without fear 😂😂

It’s like I am even beginning to fall in love with your story. 😝

Stoppet! I am shy 😆

I will take it a compliment then. You can call me Apor 😂 . But I only have the “apor-ability” here oo. 😂

And why are you shy ☺️ . Maybe you might get to see me more often. So you won’t be shy anymore.