You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: March Mud Madness!

in GEMS2 years ago

I have met dozens of families who moved here from that Sunny State. Many of them came here to home school without all the red tape. They are all absolutely wonderful people. We had been here over 20 years before I finally encountered a family that fits the classic stereotype and unfortunately they are one of our newest neighbors. I don't know whether they brought their former lifestyle with them here, or if they thought north Idaho is the Wild West where anything goes. They single-handedly changed the atmosphere of our neighborhood from a quiet, respectful area to a loud, obnoxious area. It's frustrating. I keep hoping they will get tired of our awful road and move away. Is that terrible?

Sort:  

No, it's not terrible at all. I feel that way about a few of the more entitled ones, mainly because I visited them in their former habitat and was constantly assaulted with the whole, *"Our culture and lifestyle is best, we are better than you." mentality that honestly, tickled me to no end.

That said, I don't really like it in my backyard.....

The hubs runs the youth shooting sports program at the CDA Range and leads 4H shooting sports and he has a ton of ideological refugees from that state (and others) in his groups. They are all sweet people, but boy do they come from a culture of control, conformity, and convenience. People's perceptions about Idaho and its inhabitants are quite something, I am sorry you are dealing with some who missed the good neighbor training. It's going to be an interesting next few years in these parts!