Composition Diary 🎥 / recording the video program notes

in GEMS4 years ago

There was only one thing left that I was required to do before the upcoming concert, which was to record a 30-seconds video for the program notes. This part probably has been the most difficult part of this whole process. I mean, yes, it was even more challenging than composing for an instrument that I'd never touched before 😂. The reason for this is that when I compose, I know what to do. I know how to move my hand on the piano keys, I know how to notate my score, I know what to do when I get stuck.

However, filming myself talking about my piece is a completely different story. This is the story in which I miserably didn't know what to do 😄. I didn't know where to look while talking, I didn't know where to place the camera, I didn't know what to say exactly. All these "didn't know"s resulted in me spending the whole day recording hundreds of videos, none of which I liked at the end 😟.

WhatsApp Image 2020-07-22 at 19.25.19.jpeg

Another reason for this taking too long was that I had to speak in English. In the camp, everybody except one Russian girl is from the U.S., which inevitably made me put pressure on myself to speak my best "English". However, I know that this is ridiculous because no one expects me to talk like a native at all. In fact, despite being foreign, trying to talk like a native person sounds much more awkward in my opinion. I remember myself making fun of some of my friends who were forcing themselves to speak like a native. So, I shouldn't have been this hard on myself, but the lesson is learned.

Anyway, at the end of the day, I was tired of repeating the same sentences and I just thought "whatever". So, I just sent one of the videos that I thought was the best one. Actually, I don't like it but I'm glad that I sent something before the due time. I'm just going to ignore this part when it's my turn in the concert hahaha 😂

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @selingokova! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
Loading...