I Forgot It Was Star Wars Day With My Super-Fan Neighbor, But Saved It By Making Her Day With A Massive Surprise Toy Attack At Her Door

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

I made a Star Trek joke to my neighbor forgetting it was Star WARS Day. Noooooo!!!! (slow Darth Vader screaming tone)

She's a massive fan of both, so this became a code red.

She got the virus and laid off in the same week, plus her close elderly friend was in the ICU with the virus for a while. She's just starting to get back to normal, but still hasn't gone outside in weeks (I can relate now that I'm ok again).

She had a successful phone interview today, so I messaged saying that her Star Trek socks must've helped. It was a coin flip to say Wars or Trek. I chose poorly and got the wake-up call.

Even though I surprised her with a remote control Batman Tank and Lego Mouse Car for the cat she was watching, a drum video of one of her favorite songs by her favorite artist, got her medicine and snacks, and gave her another new toy I had... I knew that I needed to act fast.

Fun Fact: I never knew her before the virus and have only ran into her once in the stairs in 5 years. Our only interaction outside of that was me leaving her a note years ago for vacuuming at 9:30 AM on a weekend, haha. It's important to forget all barriers and help people who you know need some positivity.

Thankfully I had the resources on hand, from a thrift store and curbside recycling, of course.

It's a [toy] trap!!

image.png

Frontal assault!!

image.png

Most of the toys were from a thrift store find years ago and were all originals from the late 1970's. I sold a bunch, and many parts off the vehicles, but was lazy to sell the rest. Glad I didn't. The light saber was brand new and found outside years ago, but I forgot about it in my storage room. It already had working new batteries inside. Win!!

I told her to keep one thing to not pressure her, and that I'd take everything else back only after she laughed.

Well she surely laughed, but I'm going to let this sit in our hallway for the day, hahaha. She was shocked and very happy. Win-win.

She chose to keep the light saber and one bonus power droid (the navy one in front).

She really loved the gesture and was very impressed by the thought.

How it started:

image.png

How it ended:

image.png



Moral for morale:

Do something good for someone every day. You never know how much it can mean to someone. At the very least, it's good to be nice to others.

Matt

PS - I wisely saved all my Star Wars Lego minifigures for another occasion...ha

Sort:  

I'm sure she wasn't even on this earth after seeing them! Beautiful work brother. <3

Such an epic story bro.. You've surely brighten up her day.

To most, it's just a normal day. To a select few it's bigger than New Year's Eve.

Love this story! Kindness costs nothing. Making the world a better place one bit of Star Wars merch at a time!

The army really called for a cinematic video. Wish you were here.

Ha! Mate that would have been ace. Soundtrack and all. Stay well man!

lol didnt know @coruscate and you are neighbours