I Joined An Art Party While In Quarantine!

in GEMS4 years ago

Last week, I came across a post of Papemelroti about a free online art party. It's a free art tutorial from Papemelroti's artist, Robert Alejandro, and so I made sure to attend.

IMG_20200429_151654~2.jpg

Just to give you an overview about Papemelroti, it is a local arts and crafts store known for using recycled materials. They have a variety of paper products with beautiful prints and inspirational words on it. One would surely have purchased something when going out the store. Papemelroti began way back 1960s and its name is a combination of five siblings: Patsy, Peggy, Meldy, Robert, and Tina.

Today, Papemelroti has a 18 branches in the Philippines. What's fun shopping in this store is their craft corner where you can decorate your purchased item with their materials for free! I remember when I purchased some notebooks and notepads, the staff asked me if I want to decorate them in their craft corner. Though I have to decline because I was in a rush to another store before going back to my province. Papemelroti was introduced by my friend when I went to Manila five years ago.

Before Robert's Facebook live stream, I went to check his profile and learned that he was also a former television host of an art program at a local channel. Cool! I also discovered that he's been using watercolor recently and so I assumed that the art party might require watercolor. I then rummaged my drawer to find my old and almost unused watercolors.

When the live began, he finally mentioned the requirements: pen and paper. Oh great. Lol. Lucky I have my pens on my side. As the live was streaming, I then discovered that his art party was meant for.. kids. Hahaha! (The live stream was meant to keep the kids busy during quarantine.) But it's alright, I want to learn something from Papemelroti's artist.

IMG_20200429_105139~2.jpg

Robert taught his viewers how to draw a grown up lady and a child. The child is holding a phone and looking to the lady while talking. His tutorial was fun and easy to follow. His young viewers surely had fun drawing. I did enjoy the tutorial as well, of course. I think I just learned a new art style. Lol. After drawing, Robert added some notes his young viewers can learn from their drawing.

IMG_20200429_105022~2.jpg

Meanwhile, someone asked if they can color their drawing. Robert approved the idea and this prompted me to color my drawing as well. I used watercolor so my effort of searching for it in the drawer wouldn't be put to waste. And this is the final output of my drawing from Robert's live stream.

IMG_20200429_151743~2.jpg

If I am not mistaken, the last time I used this was five years ago (for random and crappy art) but this is the first time I used watercolor a little more seriously. Lol. Watercolor isn't my art medium since I don't really know how to use it properly. These watercolors are even around 15 years old! And they are just cheap watercolors for school. (Classic Artex! Haha!) But using it now made me think that watercolor may be fun. I kind of like how my art turned out. I think it's good for a first-timer.

Thank you Robert for the live stream! I'd like to try making a few more artworks using watercolor in the future! :)

Here is the link on his live stream.

In less than an hour, he will do another art party on Facebook. See details below:

Screenshot_20200501132627~2.png

Sort:  

Wow! Galing I like how you color it. Hmm, mukhang type ko din ahh.

Thank you po. hehe. Follow nyo po sa fb si robert alejandro, may mga upcoming tutorials pa sya. hehe

Congratulations @straykat! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Revolution! Revolution!
HiveBuzz - Hive Gamification Experience

talaga ate? parang ngayon ko lang nakabanga yang brand name na yan ahh huhuhuhu ipapasali ko yung bunsong kapatid namin dyan (syempre ako din) hahahahahahahah sana nga di ko naman makalimotan 🤦🏽‍♀️

hahaha haba ng name di ba? Lagi pa rin ako nagkakamali sa pagsabi ng Papemelroti. hahaha
Follow mo sya sa fb para makita mo kung may next sched na. hehe 1 hour lang ung art party.

It seems like you’re a pro in there! Great job!

Awww thank you!!!

Keep pushing! Do more!💕

Thank you!! I'll try! 😊


Ibinahagi ang lathalang ito sa #pilipinas channel para sa mga curator ng Curation Collective Discord Community, binigyan ng upvote at ni-reblog ng @c-squared na account pagkatapos ng manu-manong pagsusuri.
This post was shared in the #pilipinas channel in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here