Found My First Silver Ring--Metal Detecting Style

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

Hey Hivers!

I have now been on this platform for 4 years! (if considering the transition to HIVE). Feels pretty good.

Doctor by trade, musician by hobby, typically, I do music or medical posts. However, recently I discussed my new hobby of metal detecting. You can find that article HERE.

Cut to Chase Already...

Okay....okay, I know.

Well... I found my first silver ring. A little baby ring but sterling all the same! From the stamp mark, it looks like this is likely from the 1940s.

I have been spending a lot of time riverbank hunting. There are lots of possible finds on a riverbank, however, the water/rocks can be rough on certain metals,especially copper. Silver will tarnish into almost a black glob.

rsz_first_silver_ring_.jpg
(As you can see...tarnished to the max!)

However, a little polish never hurt some silver (at least with jewelry, with coins... don't polish it, it will hurt the numismatic value!)

rsz_first_silver_ring_2 1.jpg
(Just a few minutes of polishing and the beauty starts to show! I polished it further, but this is the last picture on my computer haha.)

I have not found any silver coins in awhile, but I did manage to find a 1919 wheat cent. The riverbank sure likes to destroy copper!

rsz_1919_coin.jpg
(1919 wheat cent. I find a lot of wheat cents metal detecting but finding them in the teens is more rare)

Keep stacking that silver my friends!

*no sources needed, all picutres taken by me

Best,

Tfeldman

P.S. I powered up like one 100 bucks in Hive POWER. Oh, yeah!

Sort:  

Congratulations @tfeldman! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 36000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 37000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Project Activity Update
The Customization Guide for the HiveBuzz store