Epilepsy and how to react

in GEMS3 years ago (edited)

First, don’t look this post if your not ready for this, but I decided maybe is time to share this with word because you can help and maybe save a life if you know how to react. I noticed that a lot of people is so scared if they see that, my friends and family didn’t know what to do, they were in shock. I am really lucky to be married to a healthcare worker, to know how to react in such cases, although it is also difficult for him when he sees me on the floor, I also know that he cares when I get in the car and drive away, something could happen on the road.
I was also scared when I first saw myself during the attack. But we talked with the doctor, and he said we should record the attacks so that they would see how the attack starts, that is, in which direction it pulls me, because that way they can see which side of the brain is causing the attack.

An epileptic seizure is one of the symptoms of epilepsy caused by an abnormal outburst of electrical impulses in the brain.

8B2AB9A6-34FA-4152-92FB-66099410C721.jpeg

Why am I writing this now ... I had a seizure yesterday. I woke up in the morning, went to the kitchen to make coffee, and then I don’t remember how it went on. I don’t know how my husband sensed that an attack was going to happen because he was asleep. But he found me just in time to be able to lay me on the floor and turn off the stove.
The only thing I remember is that I was vomiting and could barely breathe. I had 3 seizures lasting 1 minute each.

It is not explained by my doctor how it works on my brain, because nothing is visible on my brain, even when I was in the sleep clinic (you are connected to devices that measure your brain activity during sleep for 12 hours), so again unexplained.

I have been battling this disease for 5 years now and I still somehow haven’t accepted that fact.
I’ve always defended myself against pills, because of all the side effects I’ve had from medications for Crohn’s disease, but when I saw them help me I somehow accepted the fact that I was going to live with pills.

I am grateful for all the help that people offer me during an attack, I have been hurt a lot of times and if people see in me that an attack will happen and they react, they can save my life.
My gaze always wanders, I stare through you and I don’t communicate, that means if I don’t react when you talk to me, then I need to be laid on the floor right away.

At the beginning, my first attacks I felt alone and was able to react, now I no longer perceive, it suddenly happens, so I am also afraid when I drive a car. But I lost my driver’s license for a year now. Again. I can’t have an attack for a year and then I get my driver’s license back.

So how do you react when you see someone with an epileptic seizure.

First aid for a large epileptic seizure (grand mal):

  • the patient must be prevented from being injured in the fall (remove all dangerous objects),
  • we loosen his clothes around his neck (untie his tie, unbutton his shirt collar) and his waist (unbutton his belt on his pants),
  • support his head with a soft and flat object (pillow, bag, rolled up garment),
  • after the cessation of the attack, the person who loses consciousness must be placed in a lateral position as unconscious,
  • we do not put any objects in the patient's mouth to prevent him from biting his tongue, we do not open his mouth by force!! ( this is very important, because people still think they need to put something in your mouth),
  • do not put any liquid in the patient's mouth during the attack until he regains consciousness,
  • do not hold the patient during the attack, we do not try to physically stop the cramps,
  • we always wait on the spot for the patient to regain consciousness,
    we offer him help or, if necessary, call for professional medical help.

I am grateful for any help and you can really save someone’s life.

Don’t look at pictures if you’re not ready, but I decided to share this with you because about 50 million people worldwide have epilepsy and you never know when you might see someone during an attack. Again, you can save someone’s life with help.

I also wanted to share a clip with you, but I can only post pictures. 😕

6F69DDB0-9F76-4763-BD0B-DE2A9F5D68C8.jpeg

2B8DC7FB-ADC8-4944-8341-6EE1483874F4.jpeg

92052620-94C5-4817-8A5D-FF3B6C3D57D6.jpeg

4064A4C9-3753-4082-B527-014626D3ED9A.jpeg

76FE1E6E-8202-43DE-9BFE-8A37D61BC42E.jpeg

15D9DF72-C250-4678-8D7E-1C3E1BF2FEEB.jpeg

“I want people with epilepsy to know that there are ways in which they can play a role in their own recovery. It’s all in how they approach what is happening and how they can use that as a catalyst for their own growth. If there’s one thing that I’ve learned, it’s that people are willing to embrace you if you share your story.” - - Danny Glover.

Guys, thanks for reading ☺️

With love, @tinabrezpike ❤️

Sort:  

Qué importante es tener constancia de cómo actuar en estos casos. Enhorabuena por el post, información muy interesante ;)