My adventures in Ecuador #5 / Mis aventuras en Ecuador #5

in GEMS4 years ago

photo_2020-06-05_09-30-03.jpg

Good afternoon gems community, today again I continue with my life experience in Ecuador, this time I will share some photos of my work, and some fun things I could live there, are very emotional memories because I was most of my stay in this work.

Buenos tardes comunidad de gems, hoy nuevamente continuo con mi experiencia de vida en Ecuador, esta vez les compartiré algunas fotos de mi trabajo, y algunas cosas divertidas que pude vivir allí mismo, son recuerdos muy emotivos pues estuve mayor parte de mi estadía en este trabajo.

First of all, I started to work in an ice cream shop called Frutty Boom, I worked there for 2 weeks, then I retired looking for a better pay, but this is where I learned to work with public, to know how to manipulate the ice creams, and to have physical resistance for this job. Since in Ecuador most of the ice cream shops, are somewhat peculiar, the ice cream is sold on the road, as the day is so hectic for being the capital, people do not have enough time to get out of the vehicle and ask for an ice cream, plus the weather is so cold that the ice cream does not melt if exposed to the weather of the street, a few minutes.

Primero que nada, comencé a trabajar en una heladería llamada Frutty Boom, allí trabaje 2 semanas, luego me retire buscando una mejor paga, pero aquí fue donde aprendí a trabajar con publico, a saber manipular los helados, y tener resistencia física para este trabajo. Ya que en Ecuador la mayoría de las heladerías, son algo peculiares, los helados se venden en la vía, como el día es tan agitado por ser la capital, las personas no tienen el tiempo suficiente para bajarse del vehículo y pedir un helado, ademas el clima es tan frió que los helados no se derriten si se exponen al clima de la calle, unos minutos.

photo_2020-06-05_09-41-44.jpg

photo_2020-06-05_09-41-45.jpg

Frozen ice cream was sold here, something also very strange, but people liked it, this ice cream shop already had its customers, with varied flavors, passion fruit, blackberry, strawberry, orange, all mixed with vanilla. And they also sold quesadillas, and the most difficult part of this job was having to cross the street to sell when the traffic light went red.

Aquí se vendían helados congelados, algo también muy extraño, pero a la gente le gustaba, ya esta heladería tenia sus clientes, con variados sabores, maracuyá, mora, fresa, naranjilla, todo mezclado con vainilla. Y también se vendían quesadillas, ademas lo mas difícil de este trabajo, era tener que cruzar la calle, para poder vender cuando el semáforo se pusiera en luz roja.

photo_2020-06-05_09-42-42.jpg

photo_2020-06-05_09-42-50.jpg

photo_2020-06-05_09-42-56.jpg

photo_2020-06-05_09-42-57.jpg

photo_2020-06-05_09-46-23.jpg

Then I moved to Golosos on the recommendation of a friend, they were in need of staff and my friend recommended me to his boss, as they had a good friendship. The owner of the ice cream shop was very contemporary with us, he was 25 years old, so we had a good friendship, basically we didn't call him boss or sir, he confidently let us call him by his name. I had 2 excellent companions, both Venezuelan, and one of them came from Barquisimeto, my beloved land, we also made a good synergy.

Luego me mude a Golosos por recomendación de un amigo, estaban necesitando personal y mi amigo me recomendó con su jefe, ya que tenían una buena amistad. El dueño de la heladería , era muy contemporáneo con nosotros, tenia 25 años, por lo cual tuvimos una buena relación de amistad, básicamente no lo llamábamos jefe o señor, el con toda confianza nos dejaba llamarlo por su nombre. Tuve 2 compañeros excelentes, ambos venezolanos, y uno de ellos venia de Barquisimeto, mi tierra amada, hicimos también una buena sinergia.

photo_2020-06-05_09-48-07.jpg

I started working at once as a permanent staff after passing the test, this test consisted in seeing my activity, seeing how well I treated the customers, and how I moved to offer ice cream. I just sold the ice cream, I didn't know how to make it, that's why my boss or the manager helped me, but after 4 days, my boss started to teach me how to make ice cream, at the beginning it was very ugly, but as the days went by I improved, to the point that I was one of the fastest makers of ice cream and it fit better.

Comencé a trabajar de una vez como personal fijo luego de aprobar la prueba, esta prueba consistía en ver mi actividad, ver que tan bien trataba a los clientes, y como me movía para ofrecer helados. Simplemente vendía los helados no sabia como hacerlos, para eso me ayudaba mi jefe, o el encargado, pero luego de 4 días, mi jefe comenzó a enseñarme como se hacían los helados, al principio me quedaban muy feos, pero con los días fui mejorando, hasta el punto de ser uno de los que mas rápido los hacían y mejor le quedaban.

photo_2020-06-05_09-58-14.jpg

photo_2020-06-05_09-58-07.jpg

photo_2020-06-05_09-58-19.jpg

photo_2020-06-05_09-58-20.jpg

One of the funniest memories I have, is the day my superior and manager dropped all the cones hahaha, I still remember that day, because before we started selling we would prepare the mixes, and we would put advertising on the cones. My boss didn't bother, he also laughed a lot, and simply told us to drop those cones and use new ones.

Uno de los recuerdos mas chistosos que tengo, es el día que mi superior y encargado dejo caer todos los conos jajaja, aun recuerdo ese día, por que nosotros antes de comenzar a vender preparábamos las mezclas, y le colocábamos publicidad a los conos. Mi jefe no se molesto, también se rió mucho, y simplemente nos dijo que botáramos esos conos y utilizáramos unos nuevos.

photo_2020-06-05_10-04-19.jpg

444q9d.gif

Our clientele was so distinguished, that people bought ice cream for their puppies.
And well we also liked to take pictures with some customers.

Nuestra clientela era tan distinguida, que personas le compraban helados a sus cachorros.
Y bueno a nosotros también nos gustaba tomarnos fotos con algunos clientes.

photo_2020-06-05_15-33-44.jpg

photo_2020-06-05_15-33-51.jpg

photo_2020-06-05_15-40-09.jpg

It was also difficult to work in winter, because the rains were very heavy, and we had to sell anyway, unless there was so much water that we had to take shelter. In the same way I lived 1h away from the work place by bus, and sometimes it was difficult for me to arrive early because of the amount of people, however my boss allowed me to arrive 15 min later than the normal time of entry.

También era complicado trabajar en invierno, pues las lluvias eran muy fuertes, y debíamos vender de todas maneras, a menos que fuera tanta el agua que debíamos resguardarnos. De igual manera yo vivía a 1h de distancia en bus del local de trabajo, y a veces se me dificultaba llegar temprano por la cantidad de personas, sin embargo mi jefe me permitía llegar 15 min mas tarde de la hora normal de entrada.

444tpx.gif

photo_2020-06-05_15-46-39.jpg

photo_2020-06-05_15-46-46.jpg

When we left the premises, we had a bus stop a few meters away and there was a busy passage of people, in this place we sold most of the ice cream, to the pedestrians to the users of the buses.

Nosotros al salir del local, teníamos una parada de bus a unos metros y allí era un paso concurrido de personas, en este sitio vendíamos la mayor cantidad de helados, a los peatones a los usuarios de los buses.

photo_2020-06-05_15-59-14.jpg

photo_2020-06-05_15-59-15 (2).jpg

photo_2020-06-05_15-59-15.jpg

By the way, our uniform was black and our cap was blue, but the manager had a black cap that distinguished everyone, I remember that once they gave me that responsibility for a week, I was a temporary manager and they gave me a fake $20 bill 😥, I took the responsibility to pay all the money, but my boss told me "only you were missing" and only charged me $10 from that balance, because I was the only one who had not been given a fake bill since I started working, then I was more careful.

Por cierto, nuestro uniforme era negro y nuestra gorra azul, pero el gerente tenia una gorra negra que lo distinguía a todos, recuerdo que una vez me dieron esa responsabilidad por una semana, fui gerente temporal y me dieron un billete de 20$ falso 😥, asumí la responsabilidad de pagar todo el dinero, pero mi jefe me dijo "solo faltaba usted" y solamente me cobro 10$ de ese saldo, pues yo era el único al que no le habían dado un billete falso desde que comencé a trabajar, luego tuve mas cuidado.

photo_2020-06-05_16-05-24.jpg

photo_2020-06-05_16-06-09.jpg

And this was a little bit about my work in Ecuador, in this job I learned everything I know about dealing with clients today, and good at making ice cream. Memories that I still have very present.

Y esto fue un poco sobre mi trabajo en Ecuador, en este trabajo aprendí todo lo que se sobre tratar clientes hoy en día, y bueno a preparar helados. Recuerdos que aun tengo muy presente.

Without more anything to say, I say goodbye, a greeting to all the community of gems.

Sin mas nada que decir , me despido, un saludo a toda la comunidad de gems.

All the pictures were taken by me with my J2 Prime device./Todas las fotos fueron tomadas por mi con mi dispositivo J2 Prime.