Growing corn🌽 in my family farm.

in GEMS4 years ago

Hello Hiveians

  • Corn ( or maize as it is locally called) is an annual crop i plant every year in our family farm, it is easy to cultivate, plant and harvest, and because my family consumes corn in its different modified state i plant alot of it and store enough in bags or cans that can last us the year round .

IMG-20200604-WA0023.jpg

IMG-20200604-WA0021.jpg
My wide maize field

I follow four simple procedure to achieve growing corn.

  1. Land preparation and cultivation, at this stage use simple farm tools like cutlass to clear bushes and the previous year debris from my field.
    The field is very wide, i cultivate a part give hired laborers money help cultivate other section of the farm, its still a subsistent farming and we don't have tractors yet.

  2. Planting, This is done late April or early May depending on rain, and i also plant late maize July August, so growing maize is achieved twice in a year. Genetic engineered seeds also determines my average yield of corn.

  • Early maize is consumed freshed when boiled or roasted, i dont store these ones yet. I only store the late maize yield.

IMG-20200604-WA0020.jpg

  • I planted these a month ago before joining this blog and they are booming already, the weed have been taking out and the farm is favorable for proper growth.
  1. Weed control and fertilizer application, i usually get recommended chemicals from agricultural engineers and spray in farm with our medium size back spray. tank, other times i use hoes and my family join in weeding until the farm is clean and healthy for maize to grow.
    I apply Fertilizer ( NPK) immediately after weeding when the maize is only a month old.

IMG-20200604-WA0026.jpg
Am in need of fertilizer as the maize are fast growing so that they can produce bigger cobs

IMG-20200604-WA0027.jpg

IMG-20200604-WA0025.jpg

4 Harvesting and storing, this last process i conclude by plucking maize cobs, unwrapping spreading in sun to dry, maximum drying is required for proper storage and pest control, as moisture also contribute to growth of weevils for stored maize.

Storage is done in air tight container or sacks and we take out of these little at a time to prepare our energy rich carbohydrates foods like

  • Tuwo, a turning food similar to semovita
  • Pap, a jelly like breakfast drink
  • Masa and others.

You all prepare to eat corn with my family in two months time, 😊.

Thanks for viewing my post on how i cultivate maize, i only feed my family corn for now but i pray to feed the world someday.

Sort:  

Wow! That's great! I love planting! Yesterday I did plant CORN also but in a small area only? You can check my latest post to see my plant! You have a Lovely corn garden!!!

You love planting!! That makes two of us...Thanks for this, I'll go right ahead and check.Do have a lovely day

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Sweet corn boiled with salt is my favourite

Wow that's nice.....I on my part dislike it, prefer it roasted though

Roasted is good too

Congratulations @zion-francis! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Project Activity Update
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!