Gosh! Where has the time gone?

in GEMS2 years ago (edited)

Just the other day I was the mom of small kids and then I blinked and they were tweens, you know that weird stage between 9 years old and 12 when they’re awkward and pushing boundaries and now???? Well now I’m the mom of two teenagers! My daughter turned 18 years old in November and my son just turned 16 years old.

Parenting is like a constantly moving target, just when you feel you’re getting the hang of a certain age and then they get older and change and has we handled the last phase no longer applies.

Well now we officially have teens that are edging closer to adulthood (my daughter will say she is now an adult, but my mind isn’t quite wrapped around that yet).

This week has been a whirlwind of prepping, packing, baking, gift buying, making jam to sell at a gift market, celebrating my sons birthday and then in the thick of all the chaos my daughter managed to get her Drivers License!!!! Just a little extra to add to the madness.

Now I’m starting to feel OLD! But at the same time 42 year old me is feeling the freedom that comes with growing up responsible young people that are capable and self sufficient. The other part of me is morning the previous season and trying to embrace the change that is coming faster than we think.

We tried our best to make a big deal over my son who hates having any attention on him. He is an introvert while my daughter is the polar opposite and loves having loads of people in her life.

61CDC814-F167-4DB5-9D8A-5075626657F8.jpeg

7B4CC124-D189-4AB5-A94D-88FC7EDFF0FD.jpeg

We celebrated a day early with Ribs at The Toad. It’s a brilliant pub in the Noordhoek Farm Village frequented by all the locals and their food is hearty and brilliant.

7E1C7A8C-E4C5-4653-9E5C-9C0BBD0623E2.jpeg

Then we headed home for a little birthday celebration of balloons, candles and chocolate cake! My son hates this part and cringes when we sing Happy Birthday 🥳. But I smother him anyway. There’s a reason the word SMOTHER also has MOTHER in it!!!!

The next morning I drove him to my folks in the city for some more spoiling and treats.

My sister quickly got him off to City Rock for a rock climbing session for his birthday. He seems to be quite a natural and is definitely not scared of heights. He scaled the highest walls quickly with his long limbs and light body.

I think we may have finally found a sport that he could enjoy so I’m going to look into a climbing club for the 2022.

30CB67B2-9FEC-4BC8-970D-1375D630E3B9.jpeg

747D70A9-AEF2-4C39-B9A6-815BC73515B6.jpeg

D04D023D-439D-4914-A90A-E786892C06F1.jpeg

Then he was celebrated all over again with more cake and candles and board games to keep everyone entertained. (He’s a computer gamer, but he loves board games too)

F5C053D4-DE0E-44B5-920A-19575B4B710E.jpeg

73490CE1-4D5D-42B6-A59D-82B1BF8ED4D6.jpeg

While Seth spend time with his grandparents, I drove my daughter to her driving test at the Testing Center. I know she was nervous but I felt like my stomach was in knots for her too.

Getting her drivers license has been a tough journey in this Covid season. She tested 6 weeks ago and unfortunately failed because she just got so anxious that she blanked out and could parallel park in the box. We quickly rebooked and the first space we could get was in a months time. So she took a break, booked a few more lessons and was totally ready for the next test. That morning she was booed for 7.30am and there we sat in the car waiting until eventually a staff member came out to tell us that she wouldn’t be doing her test that day as they had 3 positive Covid cases in the office and would be closing the office for the rest of the week! What???!! We had waited a month and now she couldn’t do her test. Tears and frustration followed as the next test date was up in the air…

A week later we got a message that there was a gap on the 23rd December at 1.30pm!!!! Hooray!!! In time for Christmas holidays.

We turned up just on time, ready, and I reassured her that she would pass the yard section and then the next part on the road would be easy. And off she went.

She aced the yard in no time and began the road driving part of the test. At this point my husband collected me and we went for a coffee at the beach while we waited to hear back. I’ve seen so many people fail and they’re given the bad news immediately to put them out of their misery, but this time T was left waiting after the test had finished. I messaged her to find out how it was goi by and all she could say was that they were counting the points. A whole 15 minutes later she eventually replied that she had PASSED!!!!!! HALLELUJAH!!!!! Wooohoooooo!!!!

E9D9B12B-7445-4A55-8BC4-DEEE1823341D.jpeg

She had conquered her nerves and passed the test that hopefully she will never have to take again.

I was relieved for her and now I’m my mind saying goodbye to my sweet little car which she will be commandeering.

Parenting is incredible and parenting is hard. It’s been a week of celebration and stress, but at the end of the day it is all worth it. We’re all moving forward towards a bright future full of hope and expectation, praying there aren’t too many more curveballs in 2022.

3B554B4D-A497-4DC7-A58B-3EE00BDAAC95.png

Sort:  

Time is simply flying. My mother used to say that once I became 18 years old, time will fly so fast that I do not even notice. She was right. I am currently 29 years old, but it feels like as if my 18th birthday would have been yesterday. She passed away on 2017.12.17 because of brain tumor (cancer). She was 64 years old. She did everything for us (for my brother and for me). She loved us more than anything.

Either way, I wish a Merry Christmas to everyone.

Have a nice day. All the best. Greetings and much love from Hungary.

Merry Christmas to you too!!! So sorry about your mom. I’m sure this time of year is tough without her. But I’m sure she raised you wonderfully.

Hope you have a lovely Christmas and a happy New year.

Congratulations to your daughter acing her drivers license, a must have living here now she can also take her brother out and start helping him to learn to drive, two years is not a long time!

Every age there is a stage, yup we just get used to one and they are already into the next, no parent can say parenting is easy!

Wishing you and the family a fantastic peaceful Christmas, hopefully Seth comes to love rock climbing with plenty of mountains to explore in your region.

Aaaah! Thank you! And a Happy Christmas to you too. And take advantage of your mountains for us too. Sending all our love from Kommetjie on the Peninsula.

Not getting to our mountains, perhaps next year. For now watching it rain over the lush green hills of KZN 🙂

A lovely-looking family! And it's true; as a parent, you feel like you're always a half-step behind at all times...

I have three daughters; all adults now. Enjoy this time with them. It all goes by so quickly... While having these children as adults in your life is amazing, I still miss those earlier days and recall them wistfully.

Cheers!

Oh thank you! We’re doing our best to hold on to our kids yet give them enough rope to explore. It’s so hard finding a balance. But I guess time keeps marching on.

We’re on holiday with my 16 year old son and using this time to focus on him and have some good conversations about the future.

Thanks so much for chatting!