My Little Kitchen Herb Garden

Back in May, I had gotten this little wooden herb container with thyme, basil and mint. I ordered it off of Ebay simply because I liked the wooden crate that came with it; and because it was one of the few "kitchen garden" sets that did not include cilantro (I will not eat cilantro as it leaves a soapy taste in my mouth). When a recipe calls for cilantro, I will replace it with my fresh parsley. But when I saw these three herbs in this kit, I knew I wanted to have it so I could keep these herbs handy year-round on my kitchen window sill.

herb cont.jpg

The white labels did not come with the kit. I had those on hand from purchase last year from the Dollar Tree.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Why I Only Wanted These Herbs In The Kit


Thyme- I use this herb in so many dishes on the homestead. I use it on beef (especially one-skillet beef dishes for an added fresh flavor), when I make most of our fish dinners (not so much on salmon, but it goes great with cod, Swai and Tilapia). It adds a great culinary dimension to pork too. Sometimes I'll even add 1/4-1/2 teaspoon when I am making a soup; especially cabbage soup. It's the perfect compliment to this tasty soup.

Basil- Not much can be said about why I wanted this herb in the kit. After all, I did marry a 100% Sicilian man and making the best of the best gravy (marinara or spaghetti sauce) is something that cannot be overlooked. And have you ever tried some fresh basil with turkey? Oh my gosh! It adds such a delicious flavor you never knew turkey could have!

Mint- We've incorporated various Mediterranean dishes into our meal plan and mint is a must have. I add some dried mint (slightly ground) into salad dressings for a splash of flavor. I add it to venison too; which is quite surprising the way the mint flavor melds into the meat. We all know mint can be paired with lamb (or mutton) and when I made lamb chops on the rare occasion. Mint also goes well with fish dishes. I like to add some to cod, any white fish, really.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png


Powerhousecreatives Exclusive Member's Signature made by @zord189

Sort:  

Both basil and mint smell so nice on the window sill, and so easy to grow even for me. 😊 I haven't tried growing thyme yet as i don't use it that much. Hopefully your herbs will flourish!

I am also one of those who can not tolerate cilantro. When it comes up in the mesclun mixes I plant, I pull it out. If it gets big in the garden and you brush by it, it STINKS!