It's the End of the Growing Season in the Northern Hemisphere

2021-11-06-08-37-37-954.jpg

I'm so Grateful for the Abundance it has Provided this Year

Hello Hiver's,

It's fall in the Northern Hemisphere and three days ago my area had it's first hard freeze. That means the garden is finished producing for the year. Well, except for the root vegetables. The only one's I haven't harvested yet are the carrots.

My bumper crops were green peppers, sweet banana peppers, jalapenos and tomatoes. Our tomatoes always do well. Now it's time to make salsa and pickled peppers then preserve them. I'll be happy to be finished preserving for the year. It's a lot of work, but worth every minute.

2021-11-05-19-58-48-730.jpg

I've gotten my hugelkultur mounds drop mulched and ready to be covered with 12 inches of horse manure. The soil is mostly clay, so I'm amending it each year. Over the summer I've also added two more mounds to expand my harvest next year.

I planted a strawberry patch late this spring, which set in pretty well. I originally planted two rows with 14 plants each, but for some reason the ones in front of the trees died. In the end, those in-between the trees produced more plants than I lost. After next year I hope to have this whole patch covered in strawberry plants.

2021-11-06-08-47-23-200.jpg

Is your garden still producing?

What were your most plentiful crops?

My Signature
IMG_20200325_123107.jpg
Every new experience adds to the respect, wonder and awe I feel when bonding with this living entity we call 🌎.

Please make sure to take the time to get outside and bond with your environment. Your health will thank you at every level of your being and please share your experiences with the world. Personal communal knowledge is beneficial to us all, because this interaction is essential to our evolution.

IMG_20190705_171700.jpg

Thank you and I hope your day unfolds on your terms.

All image's and text are property of the author, except where sourced- All Right's Reserved

Sort:  

Congratulations @solcycler! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 7000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 5
Hive Power Up Month challenge - Feedback from February day 3
Our Hive Power delegations to the last Power Up Month challenge Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!