You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Six years

in Proof of Brain8 months ago

I think attention-seeking is a way of being seen and heard that can gratify the part of the person that wants to live. Even some suicide attempts are attention-seeking; if it works, you get away from it all, and if it doesn't, you get attention. Not sure if that was supposed to be a semicolon or a colon there.

It was an intense experience being in that program, to say the least. I saw all kinds of ways Major Depressive Disorder could present itself in humans. In some ways it helped me see how functional and strong I was, in spite of my internal (and external) turmoil.

It's hard to fairly judge what's going on inside someone who's depressed.

I second that. Even in my darkest, most dangerous days, I still had people saying you get depressed??!! Which of course led me to second guess my experience...

Sort:  

Fair point re: attention-seeking. I think the will to live is still in there somewhere no matter how dark and close to pulling the trigger things get. It's all so extremely complex.

Not sure if that was supposed to be a semicolon or a colon there

I believe both are grammatically correct. The differences come down to emphasis and nuance. I think. I will now be spending the rest of the night reading about the historical development and current accepted usage of punctuation marks in the English language.

Sounds like a fun time. Let me know if you find the truth. If you discover anything good we can start our own religion based around semicolons and daylight savings time.