You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What are Hive's chances for survival?

I'm open to any and all possibilities, collaborations are a good thing and involving folks from across the whole chain to have reasonable discussions about some of our challenges can only be a good thing! I think that folks who are building and engaging on the chain will find their communities and I can't advocate enough for the various community discords as ways to find like minded users and build connections with people. One of the major reasons I am deeply involved with !PIZZA is the focus on community building and the multi-tribe outlook to curation, onboarding, and rewards!

I want to clarify I'm NOT advocating for spam or plagiarism to be rewarded, I'm just pointing out that retweets, shares, paraphrasing and other forms of recycled content are a major factor in all other social media. Hive doesn't have a good way to deal with that aspect yet and it's going to see more and more of it as growth continues!

Sort:  

I love your mindset! (And I kinda want to make that happen hehe)

And I see more of your point now about the recycled media.

However, the biggest difference I see is that people use those things on the OTHER social media and DO NOT get paid for it.

We are getting paid for our work...and thats why it needs to be taken very seriously. Because if Hive is paying people for plagiarized work, that is so very un-good. 😜

It's definitely not good! However- I would say that in some cases on other social media people do get paid for their recycled content. If they have ad revenue they can post recycled viral content that drives traffic and get paid even if it is a retweet or copy pasta. Hive is a different situation where the earnings come from a set amount available in a rewards pool. I certainly think we should protect that reward pool when we can- Copying an article from elsewhere to post on Hive is blatant plagiarism and would (probably) get called out on other socials as well... but I also believe there is value in viral content and Hive makes it hard for users to participate in that!

You know what I do?

When I see things that I'd like to add to my post that are of that nature - I simply put a link to THEIR site. That helps everyone

No one should be coming to my post to give me the activity for THEIR content. They can read my take on it - my views that I've added - but for the actual content itself - I don't just drop it into my post. I drop the link that drive traffic back to THEM and say - here you go if you want to see more.

I think that can be a valid compromise

Yeah that is what I try to do as well! Reblogging etc is one way we can help propagate valuable content as well. There are ways we can make it work for sure.

what exactly do you mean by 'recycled content'?

posting a meme that has been posted elsewhere, paraphrasing someone else's content, retweeting, posting snippets from an article, quoting lyrics without attribution, posting the same content on a different platform, and various other ways that people post on traditional social media that might be frowned upon on hive.

If they created the content they have posted on another platform, it's theirs to post where they want. While there is some overlap, the audiences will be different on each platform.

As for the rest of your list, I'd sort them into spam and outright plagiarism.

I recognize and understand that those things might not be very desirable or original but they are a big part of traditional social media which is the point I am trying to get at. If we want Hive to be the social media platform of choice for web3 then we have to be realistic about the kinds of content people are going to want to post. We can't expect users to make a smooth transition from Facebook and Instagram and others if the user experience here is completely different.

They may learn over time on HIVE why those things are undesirable but if they give up because they get called our immediately and downvoted then we are stifling our own growth.

Again I'm not advocating for allowing plagiarized or spam content- I'm just trying to have a realistic perspective on what people expect from social media.

Web 3.0 is being seen as the development of the creator economy which is moving past the free for all of Web 2.0 social media. For a creator economy to thrive their ownership and ability to be able to be found has to increase.

If we start off on a Web 3.0 platform allowing spam and plagiarized content to flourish, it will make those people happy that they can earn off their behaviour. It will then create a wall of crap for the creators who are going to power the economy to wade through.

We have to move away from trying to form Hive and platforms like Hive in terms of Web 2.0 if Web 3.0 is going to happen.

Original shortform content needs a way to thrive, which apps like Dbuzz and Inji will help. I hear ProjectLeo's #projectblank is expected to be a twitter like app.