Thinker's Corner: My Perfect Imperfections

in Proof of Brain14 days ago

The statement "We are only humans" shows our Imperfections as humans and this makes us question the way we live our lives sometimes. I don't know how I became too nice to a point where I can deny myself certain good to solve the needs of others, even the trivial ones. I tried checking our family history if anyone has such a habit, discovered most of them had changed, probably through experiences but I find it hard to ignore someone whenever they make a request even when it costs me in the end.

Early last year I entered a debt wanting to assist people who I felt were struggling because of the cashless policy that was introduced. It was a huge debt but I never told them till date, I was determined to power down my entire hp to help pay off the loan. But while trying to pay the loan, I still found myself borrowing more to still help. I feel okay whenever I know people around me are fine even if it has to cause me pain in the nearest time, but the same people who learned I didn't have money came asking me what i used my money for, that there's no big project they've seen of recent that I have done to make them believe I have no money in my account. Even though their words hurt me, I just smiled and allowed it to go, only telling them they wouldn't understand.

Photo source

Kept grinding hard to see that I had cleared the loan, God helped me, I did and the same day I cleared that loan, I found myself borrowing again to solve someone's need. I didn't have money at that time but since it was a matter of life and death, I had no choice. Sometimes I ask myself why I keep paying a huge price to help people, sometimes, people who don't even appreciate it.

Whenever I see someone struggling to pay bills or lend a helping hand to people, I give them advice that I don't adhere to, "To do just according to their strength and not push themselves too hard trying to help". It's the same advice I wish someone could give me because I understand very well what they go through in such a situation because I feel the same.

This is in response to the Thinker's Corner contest by @kenechukwu97. It's less than 24 hours to expiration and still active for participation

Sort:  

Lemme be that someone that will tell you to "do just according to your strength and do not push yourself too hard trying to help". Hehe.

It's not easy to be you oooo. I know this because I also go out of my way to help although I mostly do that for family. However, having to take a loan in order to help someone isn't something I'm very accustomed to. I pray I don't find myself in a situation like that because it will be double pain to know that you are indebted to someone.

The only sad part of this is that even when you are sticking out your neck to help, some people fail to see all you are sacrificing for them. It's really not easy.

I've been trying to adjust, gradually there's progress and I think you saying it now may ring a bell 🤣.

Glad I'm done settling all loans. I just have to be wise now

Hahah... Well Done oooo. It's good you won't be having loan sharks on your neck. Haha. I'm just scared of being in anyone's debt book 😂.

I intentionally didn't check my temperature all those times, I would have been scared of the results