When was the last time you did something for yourself?

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

I have gone through the tag #community and I have seen lots of interesting and thought-provoking posts, but nothing prepared me for the one I found this morning.

I woke up and picked my phone, my fingers went first to my hive account. I clicked the first tab I had left behind the previous night, and the rest of my morning was brighten.

You know when every time you see others suffer and you want to relief them of those burdens? You often find yourself giving away too much to these people at the expense of your happiness.

love myself.jpg
Love yourself

At times, you would love to withdraw your care, love, and attention, but, guilt washes over you and, you continue showering love to other people except yourself.

What kind of love do you give others if you cannot give the same to yourself? The scripture did say, "we should love our enemies as we love ourselves"", but show me someone who loves themselves less, and I will tell you that's how much he will love his enemy.

I have thought over that post that I read and I realized that "we cannot give something we do not have". You may think the love and care plus support that you give others are massive, but, it will shock you to know that, it is directly proportional to the way you love yourself.

If you usually feel as though you haven't done enough for other people, that means, you haven't done enough for yourself. Once you begin to feel a bit of satisfaction with the love you share, then, there is a satisfying level of support given to yourself.

Do not wear yourself thin helping others, it represents how much you hate yourself, and how much you hate them. That is because once you find time to refresh, renew your energy, and strength, there will be a significant change in the kind of love, care, and attention, that the people around you receive.

It will be a mighty resolution, and you will find your world, and that of your loved ones brighten.

Do you find time to prepare good meals for yourself? No? Yes?But do you always have the notch to prepare sumptuous meals for the next person, and discover that you failed?

Did the food come out terribly? You see, if you had being doing it for yourself, there is no way, you wouldn't have been able to recreate that delicious meal you imagined.

Do you take yourself out to see nature, and the world around you? No? Yes? But do you always imagined going to see beautiful places with a lover, and failed? I am sorry, but you see, you won't be able to do it because you haven't been doing it to yourself.

The enthusiasm you get by explaining an experience to someone, and watching that person feel the energy, and the exact excitement is something you should sit back and cogitate.

Why, did that person feel so excited even though he wasn't there to experience it? That was because you were there, and the energy is transferred to someone who is only listening.

As long you care about yourself, your body, your well being, a lot of things around you will change.

I read this book once, and a young lady who was overweight, decided to love her self and eat healthily.

As she progress, she began to attract people who loved themselves too, and her world change.

Every time I think about this phrase, "you cannot give what you do not have", I understand that whoever said that was right, when you give something you have, the next person will put as much value as you give to that thing.

This isn't rocket science.

@trucklife-family had talked about a life of abundance and gratitude, and it stream from learning to love oneself.

My Journey Towards Abundance And Gratitude!

But we all have our limits and we need to take time to recharge our batteries and this is something that we need to be open and honest about. I also really wanted to be strong and independent, I wanted to prove it to myself and the world, cos I really did not want to depend on anyone for anything,because that way, how could anyone let me down? I was of course deceiving myself!

Acknowledging that you deserve to love, and pamper yourself too is a good way to start living a life of abundance. In return, you will be able to help others around you, do the same.

PS: This is a contest to win cool DCC tokens. Read post under the #community tag, and share with us posts that you found lessons while reading.
Contest Rules


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

It's a great entry. Thanks a lot. I guess you will win the first place. Let's see. ☺

About giving that we don't have, I would say that we always have something to give. If it's not material, so it could be non-material. Like giving advice. Helping to achive something. Helping to build. Participating in initiatives and many things we can really do to each other.

As well I liked the title, it's kind of intriguing. People always do things for themselves. But they forget to do something to others. The world will be a better place if we always do things to others. Just like we do for ourselve. If we care about others, just like caring of our selves. By the way one of the role of @dcooperation is to make people create content not only for themselves. In each content we may promote someone. Or at least in most of our content. That's what's ''Collaborative curation'' is all about. We earn ourselves from the content and promote others. If more people will keep doing that, all the curation game changes here. Everyone will be happy. More content and more authors will be seen. That's the real community, when it's supportive. No matter where we find that content, no matter the community or the tribe we find it in. The tag could be everywehre. ☺

It's a great entry. Thanks a lot. I guess you will win the first place. Let's see. ☺

I'll honored, sir

About giving that we don't have, I would say that we always have something to give. If it's not material, so it could be non-material. Like giving advice. Helping to achive something. Helping to build. Participating in initiatives and many things we can really do to each other.

I agree with you, sir

As well I liked the title, it's kind of intriguing. People always do things for themselves. But they forget to do something to others. The world will be a better place if we always do things to others. Just like we do for ourselve. If we care about others, just like caring of our selves

We should stay in love just like the scripture says we should

By the way one of the role of @dcooperation is to make people create content not only for themselves. In each content we may promote someone. Or at least in most of our content. That's what's ''Collaborative curation'' is all about

It's a beautiful initiative. My grandmother used to say, "whatever we do for someone, we are doing it for ourselves". Here, I see you doing it with @dcooperation, and I applaud you.

The tag could be everywehre

And everywhere, it will be .... Cheers


Posted via proofofbrain.io

It's gonna get a whole lot more difficult when you have kids around...

Sometimes we really can't do something 100% for our self

But just one minute to smile and close your eyes is enough^^


Posted via proofofbrain.io

That is very true, my teacher

Just one minute is enough


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Taking care of yourself is important. Even if what you get is micro-care in between busy times. You'll have to take time for yourself eventually, however, so it's good to plan in advance. It can get difficult at times though, so best wishes and health for anyone having a rough time of it.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

It's good to plan for it in advance as you said, that way, the difficult times do not get in the way


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Ah, well look at that. My browser crashed. I didn't think my comment was saved. I'm glad it was. I like to minimize the impact when possible. Or, as is not too disruptive to my family.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Lol

Network has been terrible today, though

I am glad it saved too.

I like to minimize the impact when possible. Or, as is not too disruptive to my family.

I completely understand, sir


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Hmm.. so much food for thought.
Yip we have a proverb locally which says you can only serve what is there in your pot.
Often times the pot becomes miraculously full because even though you gave everything others came and filled up so your pot won't run out.
As a mother you give and give without expecting anything in return. You never run out when its filled with love.
Maybe I am digressing but had to tell you this never fear giving from your bounty, a closed fist that cannot give cannot receive as well.

Smiles..... I completely understand, Sofs.

Those who give never lack, it's the law of the universe.

And I am glad to have learned it early on. I pray the universe makes me a great steward, so I will always remember that everything I have isn't mine alone

Thanks for being here, I appreciate


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Congratulations @edystringz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 1750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thanks for the update, hivebuzz


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more