Sort:  

84, YPVS came out then, boring bike, no powerband.

After checking online and thinking again more carefully I've concluded the bike I rode was an 82 RD like the one in the photo below, but it was sold new late 83 as a clear out sale (NZ used to be the clearing house for old models) and I rode it 84.

I had an 81 YZ250 for a while and that had a lot more punch, but only for the blink of an eye, and it also handled like a bus and had horrible brakes. I'm sure the RD was much better but I had no idea how to ride a road bike.

image.png

PS - that one has RZ stickers but it was an RD that looked identical to that photo

Yes rd is rz, and rz is rd. They sold it in different countries with different labels. Same bike though. Tuned they are insane, standard they are quite boring.
They are fetching close to 10.000 GBP now. I only paid 1200.


Posted via proofofbrain.io