Before You Hit That Send Button.....!

in Proof of Brain2 years ago (edited)

Please, be careful when making any transfer because any little mistake will be the end of your hard end Token. Always make sure to cross check again and again.

I still can't believe this is happening to me right now, my head has been so messed up since morning and I find it hard to forgive myself.

I know that learning how this blockchain works is alot, some people even quit because they could not cope but I'm here to stay no matter what happens. Just that I never thought I could make this kind of mistake again.

2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgnKstm1UZP1JX4ucr.webp
Image from @vyb.vyb

I realized that I lost my hard earn 350 POB token today , Am just really upset with myself. In as much as I hate to rant my heart out. Maybe this ranting can help me move pass this I don't know.

350 POB may be little to some people here but for a starter like me, is much. I was really happy to claim my first Verify Your Brain new tribe token the day fore yesterday before this happens. If only I took more time to very my transaction details before hitting that send button. By now this story will be different.

The most painful part is that, out of the 350 token, 153 was gifted to me by Calumam for my support and participation in POB word of the week contest when he saw my comment somewhere that I needed more Liquid POB to claim my token. I'm really sorry I lost everything, and to everyone who contributed their votes to this am sorry I lost it. I use to be very careful but this time I mess up.

Screenshot_20211201-145318_1638366835462.png

I was to send the POB to @x-1pob-2vyb but instead I sent it to @ax-1pob-2vyb it was late in the night and somehow i just mixed that up and is gone into tin air, there is nothing that can be done about it.

This hurt, but I know somehow I will move pass it. I'm back at square one in claiming my VYB token.

Have you ever lost your token before during transfer? How did you deal with it? I could really use some kind words right now or scolding is welcome as well.

Thank You, Much Love From Funshee.

Sort:  

I just noticed your previous comment asking about not receiving any VYB back for your 350 POB sent to @x-1pob-2vyb, then noticed what happened, and then found this current post.

I am really sorry this happened to you. We tried to make the exchange process as easy as possible, but it is admittedly far from optimal.

As part of the Verify Your Brain pre-launch, we set up an account (@vyb.earn) with 42,042 VYB -- for rewards and contests between now and the official launch of the VYB rewards pool (12/18/2021). @calumam is managing that account and the associated contests.

I have spoken with him and he is good with sending you the 700 VYB from that account (@vyb.earn) that you should have received from @x-1pob-2vyb. That will reduce the overall contest pool, but only slightly.

So, we will get that transfer made to you shortly.

Whereas others have graciously stepped in to help you out as well, we encourage you to be on the lookout for ways to pay it forward.


In order to minimize the chances of making typo mistakes with accounts, I always use copy-and-paste when transferring Hive and Hive-Engine tokens to other accounts. It's kind of a pain to always do that, but it's the only way I know of to minimize those kinds of mistakes. Even then, still have to make sure to copy the entire account name.

So, we will get that transfer made to you shortly.

I have receive the VYB token.

Thank you very much, you people are so kind and encouraging. I will learn from your own method above and be more careful next time.

Whereas others have graciously stepped in to help you out as well, we encourage you to be on the lookout for ways to pay it forward.

Yes, I will find a possible way to pay this kindness forward.

When did you notice that mistake, @funshee ?
There was almost a four hours window, during which it was probably possible to save your tokens. All you had to do was to immediately create a new account with this name

I did a similar mistake once, (simple keyboard misstype, fat finger?), staked my 1777 POB tokens to a non-existing account
@onwalfa.pob.

Once I noticed that , I immediately jumped into new account creation window, and created such account onwalfa.pob.
My 1777 POB's came back under my control.

I was quite surprised tokens were able to be sent to a non -existing account. No any error message has popped up.
But later, once such account was created - tokens were under my control no-problem

Good lesson for a future.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank you for this lecture sir, I never knew it was possible.

When did you notice that mistake,

At first I thought the token was just been delay due to the fact that it was been process manually. Not until after 24 hours that I got to check again and realised my mistake.

Wow, is this possible. Amazing, thanks for letting this know sir. Its a great discovery I guess. 😊👍 !LUV

@funshee I see that they are going to honour your transfer request anyway but have you tried this as suggested by @onealfa.leo . Perhaps you can regain control and send the token on to the correct account? All the very best, that must have been a gutting experience.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

A bot already created the account and liquidated the tokens:
https://hiveblocks.com/@ax-1pob-2vyb
https://peakd.com/@socrattic/wallet/hive-engine

We plan to make sure this problem cannot occur when using the Verify Your Brain front-end. We will configure the Hive-Engine 'send' feature to check to make sure the receiving account already exists before posting the transaction's JSON to the blockchain. If we can't get this change made before the front-end is launched, it will be a top priority immediately thereafter.

Thank you very much @samsmith1971 It is too late for the recovery process above I can only do that within. 7 hours of the transaction.

I see that they are going to honour your transfer request anyway

Yes, they already did.

It appears @socrattic has created a bot that looks for Hive-Engine tokens that have been sent to non-existent accounts, then swoops in and creates the errant account, then liquidates the tokens.

He's been doing that for almost a month now.
https://peakd.com/@socrattic/wallet/hive-engine

I spoke with @eonwarped about this. The 'send' feature could be modified to check the existence of the receiving account before posting the JSON transaction to the blockchain. However, that is a change that would need to be made at the front-end level, which means it would need to be made to every single front-end.

Not an insignificant task, but an important one, imho.

Also spell checking is a good habit and exercise 😁 . Treat your text, as if it was a blockchain transaction - what it is actually.

Hmmm, thank you and noted. Like I said my head is not in it good place.

So sorry to hear that. I don’t have much liquid POb tokens right now, wanted to use my Pob to get some VYB. I will send you 13 Pob, it’s small thought but I wish I had more. So sorry for that

I really appreciate your good gestures, @readthisplase thank you.

I'm sorry that this happened and the curious thing is that only you made this mistake. There is only one transfer in the wallet for that account, and it's yours. This error could have been avoided in two simple ways: First, you could have checked the account wallet and seen if more people transferred pobs there.

Second, get in touch with @calumam on discord asking what is the trustworthy account to transfer your pobs.

Yesterday I bought my first vybs and took these two actions.

Hope you don't go through that again, on the blockchain we should never do anything without attention.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you very much for your kind words.

the curious thing is that only you made this mistake.

The mistake was totally from my end,I will be more careful next time and also follow your suggestions.

So sorry about this my friend @funshee .I think I have some liquid POb, I will send you 20 pob. I know it's little but abeg manage am. Hopefully things will get better soon. Take care !PIZZA

Thank you very much for the love and support.

And for the pizza I need all the pizza I can get right now.

Sorry for the loss,i can see ur passion on this

That you very much, everything is good now.

The most painful part is that, out of the 350 token, 153 was gifted to me by Calumam for my support and participation in POB word of the week contest when he saw my comment somewhere that I needed more Liquid POB to claim my token. I'm really sorry I lost everything, and to everyone who contributed their votes to this am sorry I lost it. I use to be very careful but this time I mess up.

Flip that on its head! I see that as the best part about it. Glad they weren't your tokens that you lost (I've already given away plenty and watched them get sold off on the market within minutes, lol). I'm glad it helped buffer the blow, plus you got one of those life lessons with the slip up too, big value!

Thank you @calumam for you're just amazing, I just really hate to lost a gift.

Don't you worry, my POB Rockstar. Keep up your Good Work. I will send you 50 POB tomorrow 😊👍. Now Cheer up, You will definitely claim your VYB Tokens and yeah always learn from your mistakes, be more cautious next time. I always check my transactions so many times before hitting send button.
A Request to all POB family, please contribute as much possible, @funshee is so hard working and a sweet girl, let's cheer her up. Thank you all. !PIZZA

Thank you for cheering me up dear, I was actually expecting some scolding from you.

Sent dear. 😊👍
Now if you did same mistake again, I am definitely gonna scold you, lol. Ha ha, anyway congratulations dear, you also received your VYBs. So much we came to know through your post, it's worth the mistake afterall, just kidding. Have a good day 😊🙏 !LOL

What is a golfer's favorite type of cheese?
Par-mesean

@funshee, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @vikbuddy
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (1/2)

Hahha I dare not make mistake again.

Thank you very much dear.

Keep the faith!

image.png

You all have restored my faith, I can't even say thank you enough.

@funshee I am really sorry it is not easy I feel your pain, if only you had a mentor someone who can put you through no one is perfect when you don’t understand something perfectly ask questions.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thanks so very much, I use to be very careful but this time I just made the mistake.

It is well, you will get past it, try to be more careful next time.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thanks veey much is all good now.

I will be careful next time.

Congratulations @funshee! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 1500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.
You received more than 4000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the December 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List

350 POB may be little to some people here but for a starter like me, is much

That's actually huge, i made a mistake too in the past while putting my tag, it really pained me.
Thank God @calcumam was such a nice person to have sent you a replacement.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

So sorry you made such mistake as well in the past is not a nice experience. Yeah Mr Calumam and his team were very kind..

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@vikbuddy(3/9) tipped @funshee (x1)
samostically tipped funshee (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Sorry about this. !LUV

boom_pob4.jpg


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you sir for your words and support.

Have just dropped a tip to your POB wallet


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Haaah! Thanks you so much sir.
untitled.gif

Oh wow. Sorry about this. I can totally relate. My heart sank when I lost my first hive account because I had made multiple attempts and generated several keys while onboarding and never saved the key of the account that really mattered.

Eiya, thank you and so sorry about yours as well.