Newbies Initiative Task - Questions about DApps

in Proof of Brain2 years ago
Hello everyone, I am @hamza69 and this is my first newbies initiative task. I hope I understood the task. I am attempting the task after going through the tutorial or guide. I thank @starstrings01, @eddiespino @projectmamabg, @aliento and I look forward to learning more from them.

8B109758-73CE-4B92-AFDF-835F0A97DD93.png

I created this image myself on canva


Which Dapps do you use and why?


As I am a newbie and haven’t exactly interacted on a lot of hive dapps, hive.blog and ecency are the dapps I mostly use, and my reason is simple. Hive.blog and ecency have a simple and friendly user interface for newbies. Everything on them is just straight forward and easy to understand. I can easily navigate my way through communities, engage, follow people, and monitor activity of my friends and myself.


How do you see Hive now compared to when it was still steem? how much has the platform changed as a new user?


I have read a few articles where old hive users explain that it was a lot much harder to get attention or be noticed when hive was steem than it is now as hive. I also have explored steemit and have seen first hand that it is relatively difficult for newbies to get noticed.

I think hive has changed a lot. I read that in the early days, hive didn’t really have communities and posts were difficult to find because they were only categorized by tags. I imagine how difficult that must have been to engage with people only using tags. It also would’ve been pretty difficult to get more support unlike we do now with community curation accounts or curators for specific niches like the ocd curation team.


What are the benefits of using Peakd?


Account creation is much easier and faster with peakd. Peakd removes the hustle during account creation. Like ecency, it also has a post promotion feature. We also get to see more detailed info about our account like curation reports and activity.


What are the benefits of using Ecency?


On Ecency you earn points called ecency points for engaging. They give you heartbeat points for logging in, points for posting and commenting. These points can be used to promote and boost posts.

Also you can easily convert your HBD to Hive without passing through the hive internal market. This will especially be helpful for newbies who don’t understand the lowest ask and complex HBD to HIVE conversion procedure.

For Hive users that like to use mobile apps, you will love ecency. Posting easier with ecency mobile app and the interface on ecency is pretty much like what we see on facebook.


What are the benefits about using Hive blog?


Hive.blog is simple and straight forward with features that are easy to find and explore. Hive users who are more accustomed with the interface of steemit are more likely going to love hive.blog.

We can recover our hive keys on hive.blog as long as we have our hive master key. It is however advisable to keep these keys safe and not lose them as we risk losing access to our wallet and all tokens in it.


What is 3speak?


I see 3speak as a kind of youtube dapp on hive blockchain. We can post our videos here uncensored and stand chances of getting votes. For our posts on hive involving videos, we can first post the videos on 3speak and link them into our posts on any hive dapp.


What are the benefits about using 3speak?


On 3speak, we get to post our video content without being censored or told what to do or rules to obey. We get to post and own our video content. For some people, articles and blogs just don’t do it for them and they need visual explanations or interactions. 3speak is the best place for such hive users.


How do you earn upvotes on 3speak? What are the key requirements


3speak works like any other dapp on the dapp on hive and so the best way to earn upvotes is by posting quality and original content free of plagiarism. Besides producing quality content, you also need to engage with users of the community in order to be more noticed and earn better votes.


How much videos you must make to get noticed?
What is the best length for a video to get the maximum of the votes?


I don’t think the number of videos or the length of videos really matters, but it is consistency, quality, originality and creativity that will get you noticed. The higher the quality of your content, the more noticeable it gets, and otherwise. I personally don’t think I’d watch videos on 3speak that are more than 3 minutes long. If I do, it will have to be a very interesting one. Honestly, it took me a lot of effort to watch the tutorial guide for this task.


Are videos made like presentation and human voice successful?


In my opinion, the voice in a voice over doesn’t really do much in influencing people to watch or not to watch it. It is the content and information it holds that will determine whether or not it will be successful. Besides, everyone has what they look for with these kind of things, so I think it will be best to figure out what your audience likes.


Is it hard to become a vlogger?


It’s going to be a little tough for me to answer this question because I’ve never vlogged before. Lol. But no, I don’t think it will be hard to become a vlogger.

I will say though that it will require a lot of time, effort and dedication to keep a vlog running. You will need to make time and put in a lot of effort to create vlogs, and you might want to maybe engage with your audience as well. No one will want to upvote your blog if you won’t respond to their comments after you leave it there.

I am actually snitching on myself here, because I haven’t been able to respond to comments on my intro post and I feel really bad for this. But it is because I do not have enough hive power yet to make a lot of interactions and engagement. I am looking to power up my earnings from my post payouts so I can engage more.


Everything sounds great, now how to make an account and run it?


To setup your account, you simply need to choose the dapp you want to use to access hive. Me, I use hive blog and ecency.

After you successfully create your account, the best course of action next will be to make an introductory post. Tell people who you are, what you like, what you’re looking for and what kind of content you will be publishing on hive. You might start building a following when people who are interested in the things you like read your post.

On the topic of building a following, you need to find and join communities where you engage with like-minded people. Interactions with people on hive is a great factor if you want to get noticed. Comment, upvote, and rehive posts of other users and they’re more likely to do the same for you.

Be consistent and active and original. Your followers are going to be expecting to see your blog once you start growing your following. Disappearing for a month and coming back will hurt your following. Also too is frowned upon on hive and greatly reduces your chance of getting votes or support.

All that I have said here requires hive power and resource credit, two things which I ironically lack at the moment. This will be taken care of in a few days time though when my post pays out. I wasn’t introduced to hive by anyone, I just stumbled upon it so I don’t really have a mentor or anything. I understand there is supposed to be a gift giver that offers newbies delegation, but I tried this and it didn’t work, so I’m trying to work my way and build my HP myself.

Here is my introduce yourself post if you want to get to know me. Thank you for reading my blog, have a nice day☺