You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How will you die?

in Proof of Brain2 years ago (edited)

In my experience, and watching my parents and grandparents, it is the small changes that can make the biggest difference. Big changes can be hard to sustain and can throw us off balance, but little changes, like drinking one more glass of water per day, exercising for 5 more minutes per day, and and eating a little better. For example, eating when we are hungry only and stopping just before we are full. Also, personally, I find altering my eating by ADDING healthy foods instead of taking unhealthy ones away is more sustainable. So, I don't tell myself I cannot have cake, but I chop up more vegetables and dip because I like them. I buy and eat more fruit because I like it. That sort of thing. When you are satisfied with fruit, you are less likely to crave chocolate (in my experience).

A doctor I saw once told me that most people assume that, if you are overweight, you have to lose a lot of weight to incur health benefits. However, the research shows that even a 10lb weight loss can reduce blood pressure, cholesterol, etc.

I find that comforting. Not that we should not make more effort, but rather that it's not about numbers on a scale. It's about daily good habits. Also, I read somewhere that good habits 80-90% of the time lead to good results. This means we can be kind and non-violent with ourselves, being healthy and active without overdoing it, eating healthily while still having a cookie sometimes.

!LUV
!LOLZ
!PIZZA
!hivebits

P.S. I hope your mother continues to recover well. My father is recovering well so far, and it is a relief. ❤

Sort:  

How do trees get on the internet?
They log in.

Credit: dksart
@dreemsteem, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @harlowjourney
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (1/2)