Don't Get Sucked Into Twitter While Promoting Hive On Twitter. K? Thanks.

in Proof of Brain3 years ago (edited)

Tweet Tweet
So this is my first daily journal. I'm starting this to kickstart myself into writing more frequently. I have about a thousand half written posts piled up in a folder on my computer that will likely never be posted. The reasons are usually "This sucks" or "I'll finish it later". But I never do. Well, sometimes I do. But usually I don't. So from now on I plan to be doing a lot of basically rough and unedited posts. Not that the rest of my posts are that great or anything.

But this is more for just getting used to writing without the need for any attempt at perfection. I just want to write and get my thoughts out and have a permanent record of things that have happened in my life without worrying too much about presentation. It doesn't mean I will never post anything "of value" that I have put some thought into.

So what I'm going to do with this is just start a new post every day, add to it throughout the day, and then publish it at night, whether it's finished or not. Then maybe reread later and turn some of the thoughts that come up into full-fledged "high value" posts.

Twitter

I have a love/hate relationship with Twitter. I've been on there a lot recently to promote Hive. Twitter is a great place for that because there are a lot of users and many of them are interested in crypto and anti-censorship related stuff. I hate it for the obvious reasons: it's not decentralized, they censor content, etc. But at the same time I enjoy interacting with some of the people there. And I'm starting to find that this interaction is paying off for Hive promotion. I have been getting quite a few likes and retweets on Hive related tweets, as well as people interested in checking out Hive after a bit of back and forth.

The problem is that I feel I'm getting sucked into using Twitter in place of Hive, which is not what I want. The whole point is to get people to stop using platforms that can deplatform / demonetize / censor them on a whim and switch to one where that can't happen. Another reason to start doing a daily journal here. Kind of weird to be promoting Hive on another platform but not really using it to its full capacity!

Anyway, that's it for today. Quick and dirty. Let's see if this holds up through tomorrow.

Oh wait. Where should I post this? I need to start trying out the different communities. Think I'll try Proof of Brain this time.

Sort:  

Made my Twitter account a few days back because of Tracy from Hive. She's great. Other than tweeting my articles I don't even have time to look around. Hi, Ken!

Hi zpek! Tweeting articles is good. Obviously actually using Hive is one of the best ways to promote it. Hopefully I can find and maintain a balance.

I usually put about 15 minutes into it a day, if I’m really free a bit more. For me it’s more like WORK where hive is fun.

I end up putting in a lot more time than that because it's an energy efficiency thing. Meaning I spend a lot of time on my phone, where I don't use any Hive apps because of slight paranoia (get hacked, lose my phone, etc.), so I end up checking Twitter a lot anyway. Because of that, I just decided to go with it and promote Hive there whenever I'm on.

Actually though, I think Twitter is just as fun as Hive in its own way. It's fairly easy to get interaction because of the sheer number of people there. But of course I don't like the censorship, shadow banning, etc. going on there. At some point though, there will be enough people microblogging on Hive with similar interests to mine that it won't be necessary to promote on Twitter anymore.

Shouldn’t hive be safe with hivesigner?

Twitter can definitely be fun. But it caters a lot more to multitasking, fast change in focus. I can’t do it too much lol

It's not so much that it can't be safe, it's more that being safe on a mobile device requires a little setup work that I don't really feel like doing right now / haven't investigated enough / need to buy a new phone anyway and don't want to bother setting things up only to have to do it again. I have everything safely set up on my desktop and that's good enough for now.