Learning To Wake Up Early

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

Night Owl

For years and years I've been a night owl. My work schedule has usually been from afternoon to night. Back when I was in the Air Force, I worked swing shift most of the time, which was from around 3 PM to 11 PM. Same deal when I worked as a civilian for for Boeing in Saudi Arabia. And then for the 12 years or so I ran my ESL school in Japan, my work day varied but usually started after 12 PM and finished after 8 PM.

Heck, I even had an owl as my company logo in Japan.

When I was younger it was no problem. In Saudi, I'd get off work at 11, get home by 12, eat something, get the gym key from the housing compound security staff, and be in the gym at 1 AM. It was nice, as I'd usually have the whole gym to myself and didn't have to wait for anyone to use the equipment.

But lately it's just not been working so well. I finish work in the evening as I always have, and night time is when I feel most awake, but the problem is I end up staying up a little too late. And if I'm up until 2 AM, which is often the case, I can't get to sleep. I often end up laying in bed until 4 AM, 5 AM, ... 6 AM... and then maybe finally fall asleep and wake up a couple of hours later because of the sunlight. Then I'll stay up for a bit, as I don't have to work until afternoon, until I feel sleepy again, and finally get some more sleep before I have to work.

It might be better if we weren't in the midst of a pandemic and everything was open here in Thailand after 9 PM. But there has been a curfew for months. Although it is apparently about to end, yay!

So Go To Sleep Earlier, Idiot!

Yep. I know. So I recently decided to do just that. I've started making sure I don't stay up past 12, and set my alarm for 8. I've ended up waking up with the sun anyway, but it feels a lot better than waking up with the sun after only one or two hours of sleep. And then I feel like I have all day to get things done at a leisurely pace, instead of often feeling like I'm not getting anything done. Like this post, for example. Or some programming. Or some reading.

It is taking some getting used to, though. At least once a week I still just can't sleep, despite going to bed on time. But the following night I seem to be able to. Not sure if that will continue or subside, but either way I'm going to keep at it. I just feel like I have so much more time.

Anyway, enough of my boring life. Hope you have a great day. Or night.

Sort:  

Just like you, I used to sleep late. I stay awake all night even though I don’t do night shifts. Naturally, my eyes refuses to sleep but when it comes to the afternoon, I get dizzy and may only just sleep for 2-3 hours then wake up again

Good (and bad) to know I'm not the only one. Do you have any idea what causes it for you?

We have chosen to support your post because you are one of the good promoters of Hive on Twitter based on our Hive Twitter Daily Report.

We appreciate your time and enthusiasm for promoting Hive!

Keep up the good job! 😍😍😍

This is done with the support of #theycallmedan and the #threespeak team.