Blue Brain Hardfork 25

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

bluebrain-hf-25.png

The Blue Brain Wallet Changes

Hey you other guys who don't read my stuff but vote. Thank you. Now for the rest of you, I would like to show you guys some of the things I have recently added to Blue Brain (proofofbrain.org).

The wallet allows you to jump to several exchanges. The best news is though concerns Hard-Fork 25.

Conversion from Hive into HBD

On BitTrex and UpBit in often have a super parity Hive Dollar. Those who will continuously divulge personal information to these CeFi institutions see HBD pump. Looking at the chart right now, I see the price ranging from 6000 satoshis/HBD and down to the dollar amount 2868 satoshis/USD recently.

So now, if one sees HBD on exchanges is well over the dollar you can convert your Hive into HBD and then fill all of the buy orders that are worth higher than a dollar.

On the Internal market (Hive DEx), it is Hive/HBD, you can go to https://hiveblockexplorer.com/.

HIVE price: $0.279
HBD price: $0.99
Base feed price: $0.276
Internal market: $0.2804

Here the base feed price is the price set by witnesses which determines the price we can convert Hive Dollars into hive for. You can go the other direction but you will pay a fee for this conversion. The Internal market is the price on Hive DEx. When these prices are far apart then the HBD will be too high or too low. If the number is $1.30 say, you should look at the buy orders, and see if there are good deals for buying HBD. You want to sell your dollars at a high price if you can. You can convert some of your Hive into HBD and immediately you have dollars. You can fill those buy orders and immediately realize a profit. If the HBD is low like $0.70, you can use the conversion feature, but it takes 3.5 days. So should it jump up you could take a loss.

Most centralized exchanges will have HBD/BTC and Hive/BTC pairs. In this case you have to look at the buy orders for HBD from BTC, and the sell orders for BTC from Hive. So you have this two step process and some % fee. It is a little more complex. Watch out, exchanges will put Hive and HBD as "under maintenance."

Your Reward For Reading This

Now for your reward. I couldn't find any web interfaces which allowed you to convert Hive into HBD and even the tesnet wallet didn't have this feature. So I integrated it into the wallet here. You'll have to login as you and click the Hive icon. Now, I am just going to deploy this. Currently you can potentially convert hive dollars to Hive at the Hive Blockchain rate of 0.276 HBD/Hive (maybe lose 10% based on whatever they are charging you for the conversion). So each Hive would be about 0.25 HBD. Then you can take that quarter and sell it in certain exchanges for $0.34 worth of Hive. Now you have 1.36 Hive. Multiply this by 1000. So now it gets interesting. But before you do, try it out with 1 Hive or 10 Hive first. Find out all of the hidden fees and gotchas along the way if any. Once that hurdle gets over come, 1000 Hive becomes 1360 Hive in twenty minutes. Then you take the 1360 Hive and do the same operation. The process repeats until the buyers in the exchanges stop buying at well over a dollar or you get tired of answering exchanges with your personal information as long as the exchanges really have buy orders like this and they allow withdrawls. Binance doesn't have any pairs with HBD, so let's forget about them.

It's 15:15 UTC which 75 minutes after the fork. Over at BitTrex and not looking at Hive at all we see the price of BTC in USD is $34,290 and the price of HBD is 0.000,029 BTC. 0.000,029 BTC/HBD * $34,290/BTC = $0.995 / HBD. This is nice parity. My Korean is too poor to navigate the UpBit site and the global version doesn't allow deposits in both Hive assets. I think an inability to deposit HBD could make an exchange list an asset much higher than normal. That is something one should think about before giving these Upbit any weight in your decision making.

image.png
image.png

Why is This not Called "reverse_convert" Instead of "collateralized_convert"?

I don't know what's up with that. Is it the case that if you leave these dollars in your possession they will be coverted back into Hive after some period of time? If you can make these trades and take advantage of overly high prices for HBD, I'd say you should do so. Maybe someone can enlighten us how it is different from just permanent conversion if indeed it is.

Below is a patch dhive needs in order to do the conversion from Hive to HBD:
@emrebeyler @gtg @blocktrades

diff --git a/src/chain/operation.ts b/src/chain/operation.ts
index 6ca3767..b7ee8c6 100644
--- a/src/chain/operation.ts
+++ b/src/chain/operation.ts
@@ -55,6 +55,7 @@ export type OperationName =  // <id>
   | 'claim_account' // 22
   | 'claim_reward_balance' // 39
   | 'create_proposal' // 44
+  | 'collateralized_convert' // 48
   | 'comment' // 1
   | 'comment_options' // 19
   | 'convert' // 8
@@ -257,6 +258,15 @@ export interface ClaimAccountOperation extends Operation {
   }
 }
 
+export interface CollateralizedConvertOperation extends Operation {
+  0: 'collateralized_convert', // 48
+  1: {
+       owner: string
+       amount: string
+       request_id: number
+  }
+}
+
 export interface CommentOperation extends Operation {
   0: 'comment' // 1
   1: {
diff --git a/src/chain/serializer.ts b/src/chain/serializer.ts
index 7f2a49f..d10a6d7 100644
--- a/src/chain/serializer.ts
+++ b/src/chain/serializer.ts
@@ -312,6 +312,13 @@ OperationSerializers.claim_reward_balance = OperationDataSerializer(39, [
   ['reward_vests', AssetSerializer]
 ])
 
+
+OperationSerializers.collateralized_convert = OperationDataSerializer(48, [
+  ['owner', StringSerializer],
+  ['requestid', UInt32Serializer],
+  ['amount', AssetSerializer]
+])
+
 OperationSerializers.comment = OperationDataSerializer(1, [
   ['parent_author', StringSerializer],
   ['parent_permlink', StringSerializer],
Sort:  

The best advice is what you have given above. It is better to try with 1HIVE just as u have said.
Thanks for the advice


Posted via proofofbrain.io

You've got that right. I've just tried it with 1 Hive and got $0.103.

Wow.. thats nice positive result. I will try that out too.
Thanks for the useful tips


Posted via proofofbrain.io

That's the worst price when you have Hive and you want to get Dollars. Why is this a positive result?

Wow I had to go and read the post again. I thought you wrote 1.103** not knowing it is 0.1xx. Not it doesn't worth it

You bring a challenge to the brain. I understand in theory and appreciate the wallet feature. I believe this would be the best way to obtain HBD... but it's the exchange part that scares me. Also I wasn't much liquid Hive or HBD to experiment. I never used upbit but Korean language never bothers me. I understand the code but actually don't know how to connect it. It looks like you integrated it into the wallet. I will take a look at it. I'm not exactly the guy for this experiment. Have you tried?


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Not now. I did the conversion of 1 Hive and got ..... 0.103 HBD. Not a good deal at all.

This is the first time I used blue... beautiful. Blue deserves a reblog. My computer is too slow but I will try on another computer in the morning.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Not now. I did the conversion of 1 Hive and got ..... 0.103 HBD. Not a good deal at all.

Thanks for making that clear. This post did however encourage me to get on the blue. Thank you :D

Thanks for your work getting the front end up - it was great to get a fully working front end.

Is there a reason why it disappeared yesterday? - I miss it already!

All I'm seeing now is this:

image.png


Posted via proofofbrain.io

ps - phew its back again - had me worried there!

Read it and really appreciate what you are doing for pob🧠


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Read it and voted. Double whammy!!! :0D


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Well said and a nice update


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Actually sounds interesting , i will be trying it out.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Use only 1 Hive and record how much your Hive Dollars goes up, my results were underwhelming. Just now, I did the conversion of 1 Hive and got ..... 0.103 HBD. Not a good deal at all.

Keep doing this nice work, @leprechaun.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

What about beneficiaries ? Is that taking 10% just like proofofbrain and those beneficiaries are only in POB or in hive as well ?


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I don't know what's up with that. Is it the case that if you leave these dollars in your possession they will be coverted back into Hive after some period of time? If you can make these trades and take advantage of overly high prices for HBD, I'd say you should do so. Maybe someone can enlighten us how it is different from just permanent conversion if indeed it is.

This makes noise to me because I have a very small HBD that I do not know if I should spend (it depends on a commitment acquired).
But if I have it there for a while, could it be converted to Hive without me intervening with this HF25?
I don't handle the exchanges...I haven't even cho the first one yet...never.
Could I convert it to savings?


Posted via proofofbrain.io

In that part, I was speculating. As far as I can tell it is indistinguishable from converting, and by converting you are destroying Hive and creating dollars. Just as a chemist can destroy water and end up with hydrogen and oxygen gases. There is no trading involved. You can trade though and it is advisable to trade on the internal market rather than just get only $0.10/Hive. You'll be able to get around $0.22-0.29/Hive on the Internal market.

You can take your dollars and put them in savings. Get 7%/year. That's not very impressive though. I get better powering up POB and curating...

Interesting @leprechaun !
I don't know anything about the conversions or investments in crypto, and this kind of post gives me some light about it.

Days ago I converted some HBD to Hive and maybe without knowing, that transaction was relatively good. I hope it was like that 😅. At that moment the conversion was 1 HBD = 4.2 Hive. Right now the conversion is 1 HBD = 3.365.

If it is not an inconvenience could you help me to try to understand a little bit more? What do you recommend to me if I want to Power Up all my rewards? Should Set up my post to receive my rewards as Power Up at 100% or should maintain the 50% - 50% configuration by default and invert my HBD rewards in another financial instrument like savings? Thanks, my friend, and have a good day!

You always have risk. If you never buy anything and keep cash, you have inflation risk. If you go all in on Bitcoin, the price fluctuations may leave you with not enough to buy groceries.

I wish more people understood this!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

This piece of intuitive information is quite good. I guess people in this community should give it a try.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Hi @leprechaun,
I'm using Blue Brain (BB) to give the comment but it's crashed so I go back to original POB.
The BB UI/UX is much better than original POB.
And I would like to give some comments to make it better

  • The font in BB is quite big, you can reduce the font 1-2 size to make it easier to read.
  • The notification panel is quite big as well
  • Do you consider to add the function "refer friend" to BB?
  • Do you consider to add the active point? I find the active points in ecency quite useful.

Thanks!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thanks for the update. The new site looks great but currently (7/6/2021) I'm getting an error message when trying to view the Blue Brain site.Good eye on the conversions. I also read the comments here so I see that you already gave it a try and it didn't work out. As you said its best to try with 1 Hive before going too deep.

Enjoy an BEER


Posted via proofofbrain.io


Hey @leprechaun, here is a little bit of BEER from @rentmoney for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thanks for the informative share @leprechaun. Definitely something to bear in mind, although I need to navigate carefully as my tech skills are not to the same level as yours. Great advice though to always look before you leap! (experiment with low values first!)


Posted via proofofbrain.io