Crowdfunding on POB

in Proof of Brain3 years ago (edited)

I used to belong to a community called "upfundme" - it was a tribe on steem with the whole vision being a tribe where people could crowdfund for things.. And it worked, however its size was a fraction of pobs...

Could this work on POB? I get its not what the tribe was originaly intended for but all posts are acceptable I believe? I see people using a percentage of there pob sales and buying phones or paying rent - and thats great! but is there any reason why we cant just directly crowdfund?

Posts will get the votes people want to give and apart from added transparency of what the post is for Im just wondering if there is any reason why this cant be done.

My dream was always to buy a van and fit it out as a camper and travel/blog from it. Is there any reason I cant do that here and crowdfund for a few parts??

Just thinking out loud here...

(I made a pledge a few months back to stake everything for a year, (and be able to trade on the market, have buy orders ect) I have stuck to it thus far too - But i feel crowdfunding posts fall out of this pledge due to the nature of what they are. )


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  
Loading...

That is a great idea. For commercial crowdfunding, the host should have a whitepaper what the benefit of investing in the crowdfund. There should be ROI for the funding. There are also crowdfund for social charity, this needs no returns.

I think there should be a trusted middleman to hold the fund.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 60 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
9


Hey @madstacks, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Of course it'll be really good to have crowdfund innitiative, there was something like that on leofinance sometimes ago. But then if there wouldn't be a tendency for it to be abused then I think it'll work out really fine. With the right system and the right Structure.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I think the ability to crowdfund may bring in new traffic too.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Yeah it surely would, lots of traffic when done rightly


Posted via proofofbrain.io

As long as there is a very strong and significant motivation, I think the crowdfunding option has the potential to work very well (depending on the community's point of view).

Here on POB, I guess this could work.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I think the traffic and community size gives it a great potential. It might not be what some want to see but then there is always going to be some posts people dont want to see.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

This sounds like a horrible idea in practice, even if it's well intended. It's a gigantic loophole to continuously stack votes on a single person. Like the "burn" posts. Those were crowdfunded burn. Replace burn with anything else. It's very easy to abuse. I'm 100% against this. But if it is allowed, I will start a "crowdfund curation" post where I pay extra attention to users recommended by people who fund me. That's essentially vote buying. Get my point? Sometimes a tool yields a lot more harm than good. Posts are supposed to be high-quality content and nothing else. That's why POB is working so far.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I can see how it would be open to abuse, but i also think anything is. POB has ended up getting some high quality posts and posters but actually anything goes here, including just photos or memes.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Except it would be extremely easy to abuse, unlike high-quality content being curated. It would also divert from posting high-quality content.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Im not sure how it is any more open to abuse than other posts ?


Posted via proofofbrain.io

"this is a crowdfund post without high quality content - part 1"
"this is a crowdfund post without high quality content - part 2"
"this is a crowdfund post without high quality content - part 3"
"this is a crowdfund post without high quality content - part 4"
"this is a crowdfund post without high quality content - part 5"

high quality content is much harder to create


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I dont see how its any different to a meme, photos, or simple games.

High quality content is needed, however not all high quality content can be well rewarded, and so naturally lower quality content is going to slip in too as a volume rather than quality way of posting. For the most part things seem to be rewarded fairly, I suspect crowd funding would not be a highly rewarded post anyway.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I suspect crowd funding would not be a highly rewarded post anyway.

Like I said, if this is allowed, I will create a post for curation crowdfunding which is essentially votebuying, or anything else that is abusive but looks harmless, then get a ton of votes from my acquaintances. I will be succesful in doing so.

However, if you think I am as likely to succeed in being ill intended by posting a bunch of low-quality or zero content, gif-filled posts, then we disagree with each other's opinion and that's all there is to it.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

It goes without saying that large stakeholders who don't give a crap about POB will stop curating content completely and will start upvoting their acquaintance's frequent crowdfunding posts.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I don't know why you promised to stake everything. You could promise to stake like 70% of it instead. That way you could sell 30% of the sums you get before staking the rest of it, which is pretty good but still easily upholding the staking part of the promise.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I made that promise early on, I sell some but I immediately replace with a same size hive buy order.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Well the concept is not bad, could this be possible to achieve,
This platform provides a lot of support.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I think you should start a weekly series about what you would do with your camper... get people pumped up about it and let people know that this series is going to fund your camper. Then... when you get it, you can continue your series WITH your POB bought camper. Just a thought.

Good should @allcapsonezero - That would probably be the best way to go about it!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

build up a following for the weekly, and then you know that when you buy the van, everything is on the up and up.


Posted via proofofbrain.io