The new pob ads might be good for the pob token price in time - but use caution.

in Proof of Brain3 years ago (edited)

So we now have POB ads all over the site, banners, sides and in-between posts - They are somewhat intrusive but since it is for the benefit of the site I am choosing not to use adblock and letting them run.

One thing that has not escaped my notice is most of them are trying to get you to sign up to Crypto Dice/gambling sites. Now I don't know if this is just due to my search history but I assume others are seeing the same thing.

This is a highly risky sector with many many exit scams.

Ads can be fine, But I would ask those who value their hard earnt moneys and tokens to exercise caution.

Google is your friend here, google what you are about to click first. I assume many of these ads are running referral schemes and if you join the person whos paying for the add will get a % of your bets in commission, Nothing wrong with that, Referral systems are well used.

But it is something to be carefull with.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

This is a highly risky sector with many many exit scams.

For example Magic Dice, which was on the Steem blockchain. So watch out. There could be (more) exit scams on the Steem/Hive blockchain.

Google is your friend here, google what you are about to click first.

Google often cannot help about exit scams. Many of those does not have a visible sign until the exit. It is like looking at a long and dark tunnel. You cannot see the end of it, until you arrive at it. A lot of people lost a lot of money on Magic Dice.

I was one of them. A lesson hard learnt.

Google cant warn of exit scams no, but it can show you things like who owns the domain, review of the site ect - I think that helps. One ad i saw for rollbit had 2 reviews both in russian saying it was a scam.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I was one of them.

That is sad and unfortunate.

A lesson hard learnt.

It must be emotionally painful to recall this scam, because you was one of its many victims. I give you some !PIZZA. Hopefully it will make your day somewhat better.

Connect

Trade


@madstacks! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @xplosive.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (7/10)

Thank you:) yeah it stings to think about it, But it has made me more aware of things now - It altered my risk taking dramatically , I am much more sceptical now.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I am not really a friend or fan to clicking just anything as I see them. I get so annoyed if i mistakenly click most of the ads which i never intended to.
Anyways, generating this ads on POB could also be good for the community.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

More people are Using as blockers than we even know because of this particular browser that pays them to use it. Nevertheless I don't mind it being intrusive, most of the time, I click it, its welcome by me.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I think this is so good we need more income to develop the site and the community


Posted via proofofbrain.io

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 60 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
11


Hey @madstacks, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Yeah I see a dice add right now on your post and I haven’t searched anything that has to do with crypto dice games.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

See the ads, usually exit if I mistakenly click as I'm not a fan of clicking ads.

Still okay with it popping up as long as it is good for POB, Its good with me


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you for sharing this, I guess everyone have to be careful with whatever they try to open and make sure is the right one.
Ads can mislead a lot we can learn from it without clicking to open but rather get a clear page to open the main site in other to be on the safer side.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

HI @madstacks Better safe than sorry. Excellent that you have taken the time to touch on this delicate subject, thanks and it really is a great help especially for newbies within the platform that we can be an easy target, although for now we do not have large coins collected. A coin lost in a scam is a wasted effort, in the same way it is good that also experienced people take your post as great advice.

Research before clicking an unknown place is the best decision ...


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I would be quite skeptical of any small/unproven crypto gambling projects... just seems like it is a magnet for scams.

Ads are good tools, but too many (albeit significant) become boring and unnecessary.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Is there a way to restrict the type of ads that are run on the site?
You don't want to be selling one thing and through a random ad promotion your competition for a few cents.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Yes there is a way to not show gambling and sorts but that means less revenue ( I guess it takes off 50% revenue ) .


Posted via proofofbrain.io

We should get ads from the same source Brave Browser does, its all 90% crypto and IT stuff like VPNs, but has ads for exchanges.

POB could easily post referral links to exhcnages that hive is sold on to get some BTC on those exchanges when commissions are paid.


Posted via proofofbrain.io