You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HOW ARE YOU?

in Proof of Brain3 years ago (edited)

At the same time, a constant pushing to do something because someone else thinks I should do it so they can feel “okay”, is not something I’m okay with

I wish more people would recognize when they are being pushy and STOP right then and there. I completely agree about the fact that when people ask How Are You?, they are expecting a quick response of I am good or something along those lines. I doubt that many of them have the patience and time to actually listen to the full depth of how a person is doing.

I have been so wired to say I am good, I finally stopped saying it when I don't mean it and put up the neutral response I am okay. Recently, someone did push me to say I am good instead of I am okay and I simply cut the conversation and told them to get right to the main points LOL.

I am glad that you stick to the authentic side of how you actually are like and did not feel pressured into saying I am good.

Sort:  

Recently, someone did push me to say I am good instead of I am okay and I simply cut the conversation and told them to get right to the main points LOL.

That's so funny! Stages. I used to give the expected response way back. Then I went to "fine". Didn't like that much. Then tried out some "radical honesty", way too cringe. Then went for a more neutral response inspired by my friend because it all made sense once he explained what "okay" meant, 🤣

Your friend's explanation behind the response made me laugh. Its practical and it sums up the point entirely.

If you knew him, you'd find it even funnier 😂