You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Generous Donations to Pobscholarship

How big is the POB NFT market?

That's another pet peeve of mine when it comes to how this NFT situation is developing. More stores than customers. A bit of an exaggeration sure but it is a problem I saw coming long ago and even wrote about it.

Sort:  

That's a really good point. You got to a fundamental point. Who is buying pob nfts? Currently it's people who already hold pob. No one is going out of their way to buy pob to get nfts. Maybe there is better chance to sell your design or book on amazon or redbubble.

It seems to me that if the product meets a consumer's need then they buy it. That's why some nfts are connected to card games or other collectibles. Another factor is advertising and assesibility. In POB NFT it comes down to community. If people in the community want or need it then they will find it and buy it. Tokenomics is not a good enough reason to buy nfts... but it's an incentive. I see it as the possibility of gamifying your blog and engaging an audience. Use it as you like. I dont see any reason you couldnt sell the design on a Tshirt in a Zazzle or Redbubble store and at the same time sell the token as an nft. One is a tangible product and the other is a tokenized product. So basically it's up to you to sell them.^^

I think you can.

I'm a fan of voting as a form of tip, like we do. Might be the only one or maybe one of a few that sees things how I do. Prefer to show the product at no charge; no fee. Enjoy how the consumer leaves with more money than they started with after enjoying the product. No need to sell it, in a traditional sense, anymore.

If someone wants to support my work, all they have to do is transfer value from their bank account to their Hive account, stake the tokens; technically not spending money. They're then free to tip, forever, at no cost, with a chance of leaving with some, all, or even more of their money back if they decide it's no longer for them.

The blog is like a shop or a store. Those expressing interest with words, get paid with a comment upvote. No different than offering a free coffee and a donut. Profit sharing comes standard.

I don't see why I need to charge anyone a fee. Not in this day and age. But I understand why some people do it; it's the traditional approach. Not many would understand or can even fathom what I'm talking about, even though we use it every single day.

The terminology is confusing. They're called 'curators' instead of 'customers' or 'consumers'. Tips are votes but we vote and pretend it's not tipping because it's called a 'vote'. Customers or consumers typically throw their disposable income in the trash, never to see it again. They can take that same money now and put it to work, converting entertainment needs into a retirement fund of sorts. But society is programmed to throw that money in the trash so they can go work for more; so the concept flies over everyone's head.

Thanks for sharing your honest thoughts about the NFT market in the light of a curating economy such as Hive. You said it really well.

Enjoy how the consumer leaves with more money than they started with after enjoying the product. No need to sell it, in a traditional sense, anymore.

There should be no need for selling, but there is still a market for owners who want to posses something unique. So far most of the NFTs on POB were bought by friends or given as gifts. I guess there is a feeling of ownership that is satisfied in the buy and sell process even if it is an illusion.

I understand your thought process here and support your decision and I'm happy to see your face. As for me I'd like to see POB NFTs improve the use value of POB and Hive.

Of course I don't have a problem if people want to take that road. Build a road, it better get used; but not everyone needs to travel on it just to get to their destination.

One thing I do miss though is seeing actual 'art posts'. So many have now been converted into 'art advertisements'. I always said "People don't follow art, they follow artists." I can't get to know an NFT. Without adding their personality or a story about the art or even just some rambles about their day, the artist is removing themselves from the art. You mentioned most of the NFTs went to friends. So someone new shows up, writes a basic post about their new NFT, offers a link, posts their art advertisement, then what? I stumble into fresh new artists all the time offering that same template. Many struggle to even get noticed and that's because most folks don't want to upvote ads or basic low effort posts in general. Then they feel like failures and leave, but they're not failures. Simply not offering something for people to connect to.

Still. Everyone is free to go about their business, however they want to do it. I only have coming on six years experience in this world LOL; what do I know...

but they're not failures. Simply not offering something for people to connect to.

That connection is a big deal and carries far. It's like verification but on a personal level. Some artists really click and I want to read their stuff no matter what they come up with. I become kind of a fan. I get it, but it takes something special to get that respect. Thanks for the conversation. It's an important topic to me. !LUV

A tokened tip !LUV !WINE


Hi @mineopoly, You Do Not Have Enough WINEX Tokens To Make Another Successful Call.
Please Stake More WINEX Tokens.
(We Will Not Send This Error Message In Next 24 Hrs).

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.280

If wine is all gone I have to check my !BEER fridge.


Hey @nonameslefttouse, here is a little bit of BEER from @mineopoly for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.