Prineville Reservoir, Rock Formations and a Drive Along the North Shore Road

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

Join me as I take a solo trip along the north shore of Prineville reservoir. See the rock formations, wild flowers and the general beauty of nature as I traverse the nearly 10 mile, single lane dirt road.


Click images for larger view

It's been a while since I've been out on a trip in the boonies like this, so I had some trepidation about even making the journey. Much like myself my 2004 Jeep Wrangler is not getting any younger and so things do start to fail. lol. Luckily all went well and as you can see from the picture above (and below), I was rewarded with nature's beauty and a cleansing of my mind, body and soul. 😃

99pyU5Ga1kwr5Xg46gnE3BrdGQcYkevrMfGqYdeMUG2g4qZ8xRgM7yTegQpRUswvwuFYUvdkdNKdSAuiDv6yvstGBVwqQKDx6s2vs6Tf752vm9jyUVEz3m5FxiLBWfgMqY.png

My first rock formation as I enter Prineville Reservoir State Park. Here in the western US we are experiencing extreme drought conditions and normally the water would be all the way up to the bottom of this picture. You can also see the exposed vegetation free bank that would usually be covered with water.

A couple panoramas of the same formation with slightly different angles and lenses. If you seen my posts before you will know I love to make panos in Lightroom. 😁


Click images for larger view

A couple more shots before I'm on my way down the dusty road.


This is a shot from one of the many small recreational parking spots off of the dirt road. It almost looks like there might be a small cave in the rock feature above. This is also the spot I saw the only other human on my drive. A park ranger doing maintenance. It was truly a great day for soaking in the serenity and being one with nature.

Some more of the different vegetation growing in the area.

A close up look at the yellow wildflowers.

Did I tell you I like panoramas? Of course I did. 😀

Since I stitch them together later using Lightroom I have to make sure that I get plenty of overlap in the shots or the procedure will fail. This one was made with 3 elevations of at least 4 shots each.

A little fun with the view. IRL the rock is tilted not the trees.😋

A last view before leaving the dirt road...

and a few shots of one last formation back on the HWY 380.

I like the hole in the rock and the birds resting and flying around near the top in this one.

Click images for larger view

Please feel free to make comments or ask me any questions about this post.

Photos taken by me, @oldmans, with a Nikon D3300 and some Lightroom post processing.
Please visit Pinmapple to see the locations of some of my other posts.
Thanks for looking and enjoy your day!

My NFT Showroom

My Lensy Gallery


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

Wow this is nicely taken.
I love those view.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Nice shots @oldmans.

Thank you!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

My pleasure 😉

And how's life treating you?

Manual posh.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

What's this posh for? I've been seeing it everywhere hehe

https://peakd.com/@poshtoken/
https://poshtoken.fbslo.net/

It stands for Proof Of Share. It is an initiative for people to share their posts on Twitter. You earn Posh tokens. They haven’t been issued yet but they are being kept track of on the website listed above.

To be honest I haven’t heard much about it lately and I’m not really sure where the project is at. After a year or so it has kind of become habit. Lol.

  • Awesome Nature photos, please enjoy your day... 😎
    Sending you !LUV + !PIZZA just for sharing your travels √
Connect

Trade


@oldmans! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @andy4475.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (2/10)

You too and thank you for the Luv and Pizza! :)


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I have my D3400 but the motherboard need to be replaced, I think I only had it for a little over three years. Am currently using Fujifilm camera. Do you think it's worthwhile replacing the motherboard on my Nikon?

I don't have any experience with motherboard replacement. I would say to research the cost and possible re-failure rate against just buying a new camera.

You're a really good photographer and honestly after reading a few posts that are about the inevitable drama of mixing social media and money this was a breath of fresh air :) pun intended
have a great one,
axey


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you, it's an old hobby I picked up again after a long hiatus. I'm really enjoying it. :)

The drama is not somewhere I can go anymore. As POB grows hopefully things will settle down a bit.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Stunning views, @oldmans!

I would spend hours in these places... Sitting on the grass, feeling the wind, looking at nothing and forgetting about the rest of the world.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

That is exactly what I did. Stopped for lunch and just let nature wash over me. :)


Posted via proofofbrain.io

You did the right thing. Moments like these are priceless.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Beautiful Pictures you got here...You deserve it

Thank you! Definitely a step up from what I used to post. ;)


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Aha nice post you are taking me back. I grew up in Eastern Oregon. A small town called La Grande. I remember going by prinevile many times on our way to Bend to visit family. I think I even dated a girl from there once. Other lives haha. Thanks for the share.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I went through La Grande once on my way to Utah. Would like to get back over that way to see the
Wallowas. I've been living west of Bend for about 4 years now. Trying to see all I can take in. :)


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Yes you need to take a trip up to Joseph and the Wallowas this summer. It is beautiful.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

It is beautiful.

I'm sure. It's on my bucket list. :)


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I didn't know you can stitch photos!!! What a cool idea!

Adobe Lightroom is a pretty useful tool. I was able to take almost 70 year old slides of my dad's I had digitized and make a pano out of 4 of them. :)

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1228.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: