You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: POB Update: Moving to Decentralized Smart Contracts

Is this the same for all hive-engine tokens? Is there some way to make it decentralized? There is no need for any changes as far as I can tell, so I wish there was a way to remove myself as a single point of failure.

Posted using Proof of Brain

Sort:  

Is this the same for all hive-engine tokens?

Yes

Is there some way to make it decentralized?

Not without native smart contracts on Hive

There is no need for any changes as far as I can tell, so I wish there was a way to remove myself as a single point of failure.

This will remove you from the distribution. Scotbot uses the active key of the primary account to distribute tokens, the newer method uses a "smart contract" to distribute rewards,some how bypassing the new for your active key to transfer tokens. You still have the ability however to mint and distribute tokens outside of the contract as the active key owner. The net change really isn't that much different, it's just you have less features, like I don't believe the new method can mute content or do front end penalties.

Thanks for the answers. Unless I'm misunderstanding something, I think removing myself from distribution would be a good thing and I don't think we need the ability to mute or do front end penalties. I guess we will have to wait for native smart contracts to really make pob decentralized.

Posted using Proof of Brain

Maybe after moving to decentralized smart contracts you can transfers ownership of the token to NULL, then you will not be able to issue new tokens manually... The BEE Token is like that.

Posted using Tribaldex Blog

How did I not know about this! This seems like tha answer to me.

Posted using Proof of Brain

This suggestion does work, but it is a very big move. Things may come up down the road that may cause problems like if you want to change things.

That's the thing though, I can't think of anything that needs to change. In fact, I think ossification would be a benefit to POB.

Obviously there could easily be an unforseen problem, but considering POB would still benefit from Hive's ongoging development, and the goal is to be decentralized with no single point of failure and to eliminate the need for trust as much as possible, it seems like the move to make.

Posted using Proof of Brain

I am not sure how Hive-Engine would handle things if you would need to change something if you don't have the keys. The problem a lot of people did when creating their tribe is not use a specific account for distribution only, then there is far less risk.

There are scenarios this will bite you in the ass though, let's say Hive comes up with native contracts, if you later want to move off hive engine like some of us will do as soon as possible, you won't have access to your core account anymore.

You will know best, but it isn't a decision I would do without a lot of thought.