Some New Foods In Japan

in Proof of Brain2 months ago

Japan is starting to give America a run for it's money when it comes to crazy junk food. From volcano cheese pizza to rainbow churros. Here are three foods I recently had in Japan.

First up, Domino's cheese volcano pizza.

The wife and I were watching TV one night and this work of culinary art came across the screen. Being an American in Japan I had to try it so I told my wife she didn't have to cook dinner and I would treat us to this cheese bliss.

For about $26 we ordered this pizza and a regular pizza.

Now, I'm not a fan of Domino's in the US or Japan, there are much better pizza places, especially Pizza-La in Japan. Having said that, as soon as I dipped my slice of pizza into the processed cheese volcano I put Domino's back on my list. It was so unhealthy, but sooo good. Even my wife who is health food nut loved it. The flavor was a bit like American nacho cheese you used to be able to get at gas stations. We even broke out the tortilla chips to dip in the cheese sauce.

The next delicacy was found at the Toho Cinemas. I took my daughter to a movie and spotted the rainbow churro and had to try it.

$4.50 and it was ours!

My daughter however didn't want any so I got lucky! She did order her own popcorn though.

It was pretty good. I had fun trying to guess each flavor.

Lastly is a new collaboration with Godiva chocolatier and Mr. Donut.

Unfortunately for me they didn't have the chocolate Godiva donut I wanted so I had to settle for these.

The white chocolate donut was normal for me, but the chocolate pie was quite delicious. I'm not sure what the chocolate filling they used was, but it was rich and delicious.

I also ended up getting some ponda rings for my daughter and her friend.

While none of this food is good for you, or even real food, it's still fun to try it once in a while. We ate these treats over 2 weeks, not everyday.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

That Pizza look so yummy with the cheese volcano.
at first I really wonder how they keep the cheese shape like volcano, but realise there is a cup underneath it. hahah

Seems to be a hit in Japan so maybe they will export it to other Asian countries.

The cheesy pizza, creamy donuts🥲. Actually you are playing with my feelings. Now i am feeling hungry.

Donut time is anytime.

Hahaha, I get that feeling when your daughter didn't want to have any of what you enjoyed and you could now have it all to yourself.
I think donuts are great, though I haven't tried the volcano pizza yet

I felt bad because my daughter didn't want it, but I did enjoy it anyway.

Wow, thank you for the inspiration! Since I like to make pizzas at home, I will certainly try to adopt this volcano idea. As for the bowl in the middle, I assume it is a glass or ceramic one, one that would not disintegrate (and become part of the pizza).

As for the churros, I am not a big fan of them anyway, even here in Mexico where they are an important part of the food culture. That goes for the traditional brown colored ones, let alone the bright rainbow colors. So I think I will just stick to looking at your pics.

Actually the bowl was cardboard. Not sure how they accomplished it, but it didn't melt into the pizza. Probably more cancer causing, fire retardant chemicals in the cardboard.

Yummie! But I think a small ceramic bowl should do the trick. I'm thinking the kind that potato wedges come in. Or whatever won't explode in the oven...