You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @Smooth, fuck off.

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

I just read @tarazkp 's post, and your comment over there lead me here.

I just wanted to say that this is a fantastic counter-point to Taraz's take on things. Really wonderful perspective. Using a 'slap in the face' analogy to explain how good-hearted creators feel when being downvoted is excellent.

Because that is almost exactly how it feels to me. And so human nature for a person doing their best to create effortfully and honestly, who's suddenly 'slapped in the face', is indeed to 'snapback' rather intensely. And uncalled for downvotes could certainly scare away a significant number of creators.

Interestingly, I find myself agreeing with both of you. On the one hand, I'd love to see people be emotionally mature enough to realize no system is perfect, humans are flawed, and to take downvotes in stride as they continue to create content with a good heart.

On the other hand, I'd also like to see people upvoting things of merit, while giving 'benefit of the doubt' to most other content (outside of blatantly obvious trolls/bots/spam). I'd prefer to see people not using the 'power' of their downvote to hurt others, or to 'bury' or 'censor' ideas they simply disagree with.

I wonder if there's a middle-ground available? A best of both worlds? Unfortunately, the only solution I can think of is to "raise better humans."

Perhaps too tall an order for our current society.

Anyway, thanks for all the insight, I really appreciate it.

Sort:  

Thanks for your thoughtful comment, @ryzeonline. Perhaps it is a measure of emotional maturity to be well adjusted to a broken system. Then again, maybe not. You see, there is an initiation process that nubs get to endure when joining this platform, and it's all about those pesky downvotes. The old hands and whales will tell the new guy who has been struggling in relative obscurity for months-on-end to ignore the downvote that removed the rewards that got earmarked for their post, and this I believe is why we can't get mass adoption. They'll say things like, that's proof of brain doing what it does. And that's why I again had to point out that PoB is 50% borked from the jump. If you ask me—@bashadow's idea is high-level genius as it pertains to this particular issue.

My pleasure, thanks for your excellent post.

My point is all man-made systems are broken, every single one, so emotional maturity is literally the only viable response. At the same time I totally agree with you, downvotes heavily discourage mass adoption, and are generally a poor way to treat others.

His idea is helpful for sure. And I'd rather we have it in place, than be without it. The question is, is it helpful enough to magically resolve an issue that has existed in all systems since the beginning, though :)

Do you think of all human-made systems as broken? I don't know if I agree with that. I mean, granted, in the age of planned obsolescence, it can seem that way, but that's by design. I'm starting to think that this system is more of a behavioral social-psychology experiment, similar to the Milgram experiment. One that I might be actively failing as I continue to participate. Getting emotionally well-adjusted to the process of watching people have their potential (rewards) taken away from them in the digital space might be a test to either program people to accept this in the physical realm or to study how they might respond. Perhaps people on HIVE who've become accustomed to downvotes on their hard work will be better prepared to accept a social credit score where their UBI is adjusted based on their behavioral responses and obedience to arbitrary dictates given to them by technocrats. That, or maybe some people are just assholes for a living and ain't shit nobody can do about it because they operate under the fallacy that 'might makes right.' To whit, I'd say to these people, may you live in interesting times.

the therory of the cia being behind the initial set up of steemit ties right in with this

@sift666, I didn't hear about that one, is there some content somewhere about it?

yes but i'm not sure if it has all disappeared into the black hole of discord...

i wrote a summary about two years ago, that i'll see if i can find

Yes, as earlier, I agree with the bulk of what you said in your original post, and this comment. :)

Just to clarify: By 'broken', I simply mean, unable to treat all of humanity fairly. People have been working on 'fair' justice systems since ancient times, still haven't managed it. Throwing code around, programmed by the same humans who've designed every other system, won't fix this. So unfair edge cases will always exist.

And the only solution I've come up with personally is 'stop breeding/raising assholes.' Much as it might be nice, no system can protect people from needing to strengthen their emotional intelligence.

One can simply study all systems since earliest civilization, or attempt to create a totally 'fair system' themselves, to discover the truth of this.

I think people should approach HIVE as if though it's a marketplace of ideas. If you don't like what someone is selling (saying), then maybe critique their work in a comment. Then show them with the way you upvote, that'll you'd rather buy from Sally's Pastry Shop instead. This type of behavior is a far cry and more correct than firebombing Betty's shop because you didn't like how she glazed your donut. When they added free downvotes and encouraged people to use them liberally outside of plagiarism and spam, it tainted the atmosphere, and it made things generally more toxic than they ought to be. @ryzeonline, if you want to get deep into thinking about this experiment. Watch The Orville episode called 'Majority rule,' either that or the Black Mirror episode 'Nose Dive.' It's interesting to consider and shows some terrifying consequences. And considering the Malthusian direction in which the world society is headed, if you want another less-related one, watch the Sliders episode called 'Luck of the Draw'.

Yep, I agree. I've seen all episodes of the Orville, including majority rule. The TV Show 'Community' tackled the subject matter as well. I agree with all of them. Being kind in the market is a 'no-brainer.' :)

Yelp, indeed. If you can ever remember the name of the community episode, I'd like to give it a watch.

great how the guys getting huge rewards for endless boring shitposts think everyone needs to show maturity...