You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The art of ownership - WOTW S3 Challenge round

Thank you for taking the time to stop in, read my article and post such a meaningful engaging comment. To me, transgenderism is not a choice. It is an innate part of the biological and emotional construct of everyone who identifies as transgender. And therefore the only choice lies in whether to have the courage or not to express oneself as being transgender; to come out of the closet so to speak and feel free and less self-conscious in a world that has variously supported or suppressed such expression, often with relentless and disgraceful opposition. I agree that we can only hope and pray for a world in which any person of any age, gender disposition, racial or cultural background can enter a room and hold themselves equal and proud amongst all; a world in which difference is valued, not maligned. The Wachowskis' art lies not in being transgender themselves nor alone in using transgenderism as a theme, it lies in the creative telling of the story as a transgender allegory, using the artistic medium of film. I did not mean that the audience was aware of the allegory and failed to give it value; I meant that they missed the allegory altogether and that this example of the Matrix and its multi-layered, multi-faceted themes and the way in which it was creatively brought together, highlights just how an artist can have one or many intended meanings behind the creation of their art, but the audience will still see and appreciate the art from their own individual perspectives.

Sort:  

Hello and thank you to further communicate on the matter.

I would like to refer to your statement that the audience missed the allegory altogether. How can you tell what an audience has overlooked? By the fact that a part of such a well-known work of art is less discussed, i.e. thematised in the media (or among friends)?

By putting emphasis on one thing while something else seemed to be drowned out?

But couldn't one also say that those aspects, here the transsexual, by not emphasising it, could be interpreted as a kind of matter of course, simply a completely normal interweaving into an action that is given normality precisely by not thematising it any further?

I find Matrix a good example of experiencing this self-evidence of gender, but without particularly harping on it.
If you put the focus on something, dramatise it or stylise it, it creates goodwill on one side, but great resistance on the other, don't you think? What you called relentless and with disgraceful opposition.

It always annoyed me when I was asked directly about my sexual orientation when I was in the States, for example. I felt that this was not only an unnecessary but also a rather impertinent question, which, when people are interested in each other, answers itself in the course of getting to know each other. This way, however, I felt like a commodity that could be considered attractive or unattractive by reading off a label, without taking any further interest in the person, i.e. without spending much time on different facets of existence and not only on the question of gender.

My comment also alluded to this over-correctness that seems to be all the rage now, just not to say something wrong and to want to eliminate swear words, for example. Although I practice tolerance, I may completely dislike someone who happens to be transsexual, which need have nothing whatsoever to do with it. Nevertheless, in the atmosphere of preached tolerance, it provides the ammunition for perceiving each other as intolerant or even racist (and other nonsense). To put it bluntly: transgenders can be just as idiots or smart as anyone else.

I think, I am opposing to the "mega movements/me too's" and instead plead for a one-on-one encounter, each and every time to welcome the individual effort to get to know one another.

I agree that when we see each other as humans first, this will help to worship differences more instead of less. I was really glad to read this words from you: "a world in which difference is valued, not maligned".

I completely hear you, my friend. I think maybe I am being misunderstood ;-) I am not saying that every person who watched the film missed the allegory. I am not talking in absolutes by any means. I am saying that in the breadth of material discussion between individuals that I have personally been privy to, it has not been the key stand out theme or artistic feature that they have gleaned from the film, despite the fact that the writers themselves hold it as central to the film's creative heart. It was just an example of how an artist's main intent may not be what is perceived by their audience. I think perhaps you are reading too much into my commentary, but then that was your prerogative as a consumer of content and you are simply illustrating my point, that as an artist/writer/creator myself, I cannot determine how you interpret my piece. I can only inform you now as to my own intent. Your interpretation of what I have said does not in any way change my intent and meaning behind what I said. Thank you for your engagement. I have found it most intriguing and intellectual. As you say, commentary that challenges or disagrees can be some of the most worthy of commentary in discussions of any kind and I thank you for this. I do think that we are on the same page on a number of things, just looking at it from different perspectives.

Correct, from your text I felt inspired to expand into thoughts which you have not intended but that's the beauty of it :)

I myself try to welcome disagreement or challenges very much. They give me the spice. It's, if you will, also a selfish attitude, for I think it gives me the chance to mature and I know I need other humans for my maturation, so I "use" them. LOL. I call it a personal success when I am able to overcome the displeasure of disagreement and find a way to reframe it into something positive and useful for me.

So, I thank you, too.

🙏 !LUV

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@erh.germany, you've been given LUV from @samsmith1971.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/3)

P.S. I participated in the contest as well and would like you to come over and provide me with some feedback on my text.

Fantastic my friend. I will be doing a final round-up of the WOTW articles this weekend. Up to a few days ago I had read most of them and commented on a lot of them already. I will pull yours up now on my screen and it will be the first thing that I read later. I am looking forward to it. For now, I need to spend some time with my children while it is still light :-)