You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why is my Post not Usually Upvoted: Questions from Newbies on Hive

Engagement is absolutely critical. Human beings are social animals by nature. We yearn to connect with others and the Hive gives us an incredible opportunity to connect with a diverse range of human beings across our beautiful planet. The more you reach out and engage, make meaningful comments and build genuine relationships, the more meaningful the connections and you will start to see people coming round more often to visit your posts. If someone comments on your post and upvotes it. Do yourself a favour, reply to them and get a conversation going. You may find that you make a real connection and start to follow each other. Also pay the other person's posts a visit too out of courtesy or human curiosity. When I engage with people on my posts, and feel I have a connection with them, I more often than not go and look up their own works and read through some of them to get a feel for what they have to say and what they are all about. When I like what I see, I follow them because...and get this...I am genuinely keen to read more of what they have to offer. I enjoy seeing people write genuinely with passion about things they are truly interested in and from their own experiences. I also love reading creative pieces such as short stories, poetry etc, but that's just me. There is no absolute recipe but I can tell you that as a newbie, without engagement, you will struggle. Without authenticity and passion, you will struggle. If you break the rules and guidelines of the platform as far as plagiarism etc is concerned, you will not do well. I have only been here since June but I love this online space, this home away from home and I can honestly say that I love the social capital as much as the financial. Good luck with your Hive journey. I have upvoted your post as I think it is a good thing that you reached out to the community. Another final tip before I leave this comment ... get involved in writing contests on Hive. They are a great way to improve your writing, push your own boundaries, and to make friends across the Hive. @scholaris runs a weekly word prompt contest in proof of Brain community. Follow him and look up his weekly word of the week (WOTW) posts to get involved. It would be a great start.

Sort:  

Thank you for your time to grant this great advice to me. It takes people that love humanity to have time to comment on a post. Thanks once again.