The truth is.... by Silhouette D. Grey

THE TRUTH IS...
f3271078bdf98dba9ae18d62aa92b328.jpg
Source: https://za.pinterest.com/pin/96686723226592484/

He or she will greet me and ask me this:
Hey, how are you?

My response will vary from:

  • I’m okay…
  • I’m good…
  • I’m fine…
  • I’m great…
  • I’m well…

Societal norms dictate that I respond in this manner when exchanging friendly greetings. The truth is I’m not okay, I’m worried and I am anxious about my finances, I look at my paycheck and it does not tally with the amount of work that I do. I am anxious because I know at the end of the month the bond for the house needs to be paid, I am anxious because I know that the vehicle finance loan must be paid, the insurance, medical aid, school fees, groceries, fuel, and transport must be paid. I am anxious because some months I do not put anything into the savings account, and I am anxious because often my monthly obligations exceed the paycheck that I receive.

I say that I’m good, but the truth is I’m not good, often I feel alone. Yes, I have family members that are around me, yes, I have friends that I talk to and yes, I have colleagues at work that I interact with, however most of them do not know that I feel like this. Societal norms dictate that I do not burden people with my innermost feelings and thoughts, instead it is reinforced through societal norms that I must always portray an image of being okay and that I am doing well.

I say that I’m fine, I’m great, I’m well, but the truth is my thoughts and emotions are in turmoil. I sometimes question why things are the way they are, I ask myself what role am I suppose to occupy in this life, is this it, is this all life has to offer? Sometimes I wonder if things will get better. I convince myself that one day everything is going to be alright. I convince myself that one day I too will feel fulfilled, that I’ll be happy, that I’ll be content and that I will belong.

The truth is change is a product of intentional actions, not only intentional but intentional and consistent actions. Until ones’ actions are intentional and consistent nothing ever changes.

Sort:  

This post makes one to take an honest look at themselves. It also shows how we just do/say things without giving them a thought. Sometimes it is to keep people from entering in our space because we don't want to be vulnerable. "I'm fine" and "I'm good" keeps the people at bay.

Great piece @silhouetted.grey

Danko lol...😊

Touching.. and most of us do just the same thing here. We just look okay but deep down we have alot going on in our minds and head.
Good post wena.

We tend to blend a lot easier to societal norms than be real to ourselves and the society. I sure can relate with this post, Am fine thanks when deep down I know am not fine.

Congratulations @silhouetted.grey! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.
You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-05 - Winners List
Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day
Be ready for the 6th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!