I Just Got a New Car - Minus Three Wheels.

in Proof of Brain2 years ago (edited)

image.png
jump image at 1:15

What's an EUC?

Electric Uni-Cycles are compact motorcycles and they have been evolving for over ten years now.

The latest models have suspension and can do 30 mph (50 kph) which does not seem like much but when you see my videos, you will see that it is plenty - and I stay well below the maximum.

Here is mine while unboxing at the store.

image.png
KingSong S18 EUC

They were not even open for business and I was in there buying electric vehicles - yes plural - There will be a channel dedicated to the Surron including unboxing videos and many tricks and tips - coming soon.

More unboxing photos below.

The History of Me Riding

I got my first wheel back in 2013 when they first came out. I had not even heard of Hive back then.

Screenshot_2021-12-27 vlcsnap-2021-12-27-14h25m44s480 png (PNG Image, 1280 × 720 pixels).png
My youngest, now 17, learning to ride.

I was one of the first to have one and surely the first in Argentina. It was called a SoloWheel and there were definitely a lot of hard knocks learning to ride it.

Hey look at the old guy in his forties on the - what is that thing?

They are not normal or conventional.
They do, however, travel well.

  • If it rains you can hop a taxi or a bus.
  • Subways are no problem either.
  • No need to lock it up outside the store, put it in the shopping cart and take it inside.

After I had learned to ride, I had started to teach my kids how to ride. They were able to get a glimpse of motorized travel from an early age. My youngest went on to get his own EUC.

This is the same kid you now see riding his own e-bike in recent days.

Flashback Two

I do not often make posts about my wheel but I have done it.

Here is the one from five years ago when I upgraded to a Segway Ninebot. Feel free to click into it and see vintage @sponge-bob riding that wheel on a clickable YouTube video.


excerpt

Coming in for a landing! Have you been on one of these?

image.png
end excerpt click for entire post


beachfooter.jpeg

A Closer Look

On to more about my latest mode of transport - The KingSong S18 unboxing...

image.png

This is my third brand new wheel and it is the one that twill take the cake for sure
.

image.png

The Suspension is the eye popper.

it is non-liniar which, along with the 18" wheel, keeps you on your feet over the largest of bumps. This wheel was built for jumps and off road riding, though I use it mostly for transportation around town. The cobblestones around Buenos Aires are bone jarring on a bike or wheel, but suspension smooths them right out.

The two red caps you see on the shock absorber are for upper and lower pressure adjustments. The ride can be fine tuned for comfort or performance. The blue switch that you see locks out the suspension completely in case you are running on smooth asphalt only.

image.png

Above the blue switch is the tail light / battery indicator / brake light. This is the first wheel I have owned with a headlight and tail light. I have always felt the wheels were lacking brake lights for visibility to other drivers.

A closer look at the suspension shows that my pressures are good for my weight. There is a blue O-ring that shows how much the suspension has traveled on your last ride. It should be in the middle of the travel range of the shock absorber. The blue ring in the middle shows it has not been bottomed out.

image.png

The App has so many features I would struggle to cover them all here. Average speed, maximum reached last ride, calibration, range, odometer, battery percentage, graphs, and speed limitation to prevent new riders from getting hurt.

There is also the ability to record video as back drop of your dashboard. One can live stream that video or record it for uploading later.

image.png

There is also an alarm that can be set - as the sticker above says, the wheel needs to be unlocked before trying to ride it. If someone tries to move the wheel while it is locked a loud alarm sounds until they leave it alone again. If the wheel is stolen (by someone that knows how to ride it), it can be turned off while they are riding away. Which will likely destroy their face!

Answers to Common Questions

No you don't need more balance abilities to ride it.
It takes three to fifteen days to learn to ride.
This wheel charges in three hours. (Common outlet)
I am getting a range of 50 miles per charge on it.
You must fill it with gas every. .. Never.
You have to change the oil every ... Never.
You will need new breaks every ... Never.
Simply leaning forward accelerates and backward brakes.

I have to thank Hive for providing the money to be able to afford this ride!!!

I had to do the unboxing at the store because I needed to ride it home some thirteen miles away. That was a fun ride, including streets, bike paths, dirt paths, forests, ramps and stairs. That ride and a crash video coming up - captured by my son in slow motion - I had to try riding on stairs, didn't I?

spbobFooter.jpeg

Sort:  

In 2013, Hive didn't exist. I think the Steem chain came into existence in 2016.

Yes, I know. That is why there are no posts about my kids learning to ride the SoloWheel. I was still mining Bitcoin back then. The Segway was the first post I made about EUC's on the Steem/Hive chain.

Nice to have you comment on one of my posts. Thanks - Love #Proofofbrain!

That's awesome. It's almost sci-fi with how compact it can get. 30MPH on it must be very fun.

I get sci-fi responses from onlookers all the time as I go past. Soon you will see how fun it is. I have some footage of the ride back from the dealer. I am wondering what kind of music to overlay on the video. -Btw - thanks for your interest in my son's account. I have been trying to motivate all my kids to get going on Hive for years.

The fear I have for this thing is massive.

I can barely make for with the bicycle.

I have been riding for this kind of 'bike' for eight years and I have some level of fear every time I get on it. I have massive fear when heading for a curb, but it keeps going up curbs anyway. Better than a bike actually. Face your fears.

I could bet that your first ride on that typa bike was terrible.

So cool. 😎

Damn, this bike seems really cool. Definitely something I'd like to buy, and fuck, you bought it with hive money, and I'm on hive too, mine gotta be coming soon😀.