KEY NEWBIE CORRECTIONS AND POST ANALYSES || WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW TO IMPROVE IN YOUR WRITING

in Proof of Brain2 years ago (edited)

Happily, I have been able to bring back some of my friends who left Hive to start posting again but amidst my busy activities with school and church, I still try my best to answer their questions and relay some advices to them which could improve their content writing and possibly help them earn better rewards.

To begin with, I would share some contents of my friends and the advices I left for them concerning their blog. I am making this blog so that others out here may see a thing or two to know from.

Let's take one of @tblings-art post as a study case for instance.

Adekola Taiwo Odunayo - @tblings-art _ PeakD - Google Chrome 11_22_2021 4_20_19 AM (2).png

From this post above, you will see that it contains 40 words and a single picture with a description:

Am currently working on a character 🕴️ just did the rough sketch , will be uploading the finished work soon. The sketch was made with krita, but will be doing the painting on Photoshop also rendering 😁😁😁...

Comment your thoughts🙏🙏☺️☺️...❤️❤️❤️❤️

What I have to say is that this post shows no proof he was the one that actually drew the content; though, I know he was the one who made it but yet it doesn't not look alright to post a single picture and say you did this and that and leave in the thing air.

It is important if you want to share a piece of art or design you have done, tell us how you got inspired to make them. Share us the design from how you started to the point it is completed. It would be more interesting if you also show/tell us the challenges you face when trying to accomplish the goal.

Doing all this above would make your content worthy of an upvote. Hive is not like facebook where you come in and post a single picture then leave and if at all you can do that, at least make sure you must have gotten some degree of influence and relationship with people in here. Then it would be understandable that you have engaged so hard that people would vote your content even with such little effort. But if not, then don't expect any form of reward in your content if no effort is placed in making it and engaging with other authors in the community.



Another thing I noticed is the community he posted the content in. I don't know if Discovery-it Community curates art contents but I am definitely sure that the community is not a perfect fit for that kind of contents.

It is always important to share your content where other authors who post there would best appreciate it. For instance, If you are into music, share your content in the music community, openmic community or what ever community that is related to music. If you are into art, then it is expected of you to share your content in communities related to artworks; For Instance, OnChainArt Community.


Now, we have @uncle2. Let's analyze his post here.


MY LIFE AS A COMEDIAN _ PeakD - Google Chrome 11_22_2021 4_46_17 AM (2).png

There are not much to say about uncle2 post here only that his posts is not well spaced. Having good spacing in your articles makes it easier and enjoyable to read. For me, if I enter an article and I see the paragraphs are too merged together, I would end up skimming most of the post instead of actually reading them because it doesn't help my eye seeing everything squeezed together.

It is always important that you should leave two line spaces between each paragraph when writing a post and also try not making a paragraph too long. Short paragraphs are easier to read than long paragraphs which is harder and not well pleasing to the eye.

Also, in order to make your blog neater. It is important to centralize the pictures; I won't lie, sometimes I forget to do this but when I see my pictures are not well placed in the middle of the article, I centralize them. To centralize a post or picture, it is very easy to do. You can find the code below:

<center>Also, in order to make your blog neater. It is important to centralize the pictures; I won't lie, sometimes I forget to do this but when I see my pictures are not well placed in the middle of the article, I centralize them. To centralize a post or picture, You can find the code below:</center>

<center> type in your word </center>

The <center></center> code which I place above was how I was able to centralize my last paragraph as you have seen above.


Now, we have @daniky, Let's analyze his profile here


Before I continue, @daniky is my cousin. A very close cousin of mine and while I chose to analyze his post is because I want him to achieve more things here on Hive. As his brother, I cannot look away from things which I would normally tell someone who is not close to me. He has to know what he needs to improve on to grow in this community.

MY LIFE AS A COMEDIAN _ PeakD - Google Chrome 11_22_2021 5_08_30 AM (2).png

We see daniky focused in publishing only in one community alone which is the we are alive tribe community. There is nothing wrong having a primary focus on a community if that is where you prefer to engage on the most but there is something wrong when you are not creative on each and every post you make.

From @daniky's profile, you find him using the same header picture for every post he makes. At least there should be some uniqueness in every header picture to bring people to click on your post. If your header picture is not catchy enough, then forget it. You just remain where you are and no progress at all.

In making good header pictures, I recommend checking our canva app, or instead check our https://canva.com to edit your header pictures online.


Now, let's check one of his posts here


I Am Alive Challenge #166 _ PeakD - Google Chrome 11_22_2021 5_20_54 AM (2).png

First, we see that he makes no effort in being creative about his title and uses almost the same title for each and every post he makes. We can find that he writes both in Spanish and English translation and yet, still writes 294 words which is very low for me since it is a bilingual write up.

If you are to write about your day, we expect more than just a picture. We need eventful pictures that tells us about your day. If you spent your day with children, then take a picture with them and share their pictures. Let us get to know them and tell us what you like about them.

All in all, try to engage with other people in the blockchain. it brings you more engagement and visibility to your post. In the end, you earn more rewards on your posts.



I have over 25 Newbies I am mentoring right now, If I was to pick each and every post to make on them. I would probably end up writing a post of over 6000 words which I know would be too long for you to read. But truth is, most of them are doing pretty fine, I just picked the most obvious and disturbing of them all, though there are more to write about but let us end it here for now.

Sort:  

See my chieeef!!!

Dope suit joor

@topdollar001
@ezmilly2
@drlins
@drmarshal

Fall in and learn!

Lol! Thanks man 😅

Let me repeat it! Dope suit!

Really dope

So significant, I gained some useful knowledge from this, this will make me a better writer.

Hoping it makes you more of a better Hiver than a writer.

😃 it will. Thanks bro

It is a good thing, that you advice your friends. That is what a good friend does.

Yeah thanks… what are friends for if I don’t advise them.

Yes sure. I love it when friends try to lift their friends.

This is a post most newbies should see. At times when people come in here they post as if it is Facebook. I'm very lucky to have been taught by @k-banti very early about how my posts should be. I admire what you do by guiding newbies. More grease to your elbow.

If you were brought in my @k-banti then you have the right guide. He is my mentor too. Guided me through a lot of things.

It's good to know I'm on the right track

Right track lori iro. I never too get time teach baba anything 😌

i really do love post like this thanks @starstrings am a month plus, but am open and willing to learn everyday learning never stops for me, tho i have a very strong mentor and backup @uyobong, which i would say over a million times if not for him i'd dump this stuff...nice one please keep up the trend

That’s great. I know @uyobong. He is no small man on Hive. He is a whale 🐳… he is one of the few people I look up to. Thanks for coming by. I hope my post was helpful.

That’s great. I know @uyobong. He is no small man on Hive. He is a whale 🐳… he is one of the few people I look up to. Thanks for coming by. I hope my post was helpful.
😂😂😂wow...like really it has been insightful...thanks for updating me on the type of man @uyobong ..A MAN WITH A HEART OF A GOD....

I still find this very important because we learn everyday.
Thank you, boss

Good to have you here brother

helpful advice. thank you for sharing @starstrings01

Thanks for being here

Noted bro.... Thanks for bringing me back 🙂

I have deep respect for you looking out for newbies..
Thanks @starstrings01

Wow... Nice.. I nope to learn more from you

Thanks man. Trying to take care of newbies on chain and off chain. I am going massive in onboarding as well.

It is good that you guide him so that things like this do not happen due to ignorance and this also serves as an example for other users.

Yeah. I brought them to Hive, I would feel bad to leave them unguided.

🙏🙏🙏👍👍👍👍

Thanks for the quick lesson..
improvements will surely be made. @ebingo

Do well to do mark closely on starstrings. you will learn a lot from him

Omo you too much man @starstrings01 . We learn everyday. We make mistakes sometimes which is okay. I like the fact that you correct us. It is not easy ,the work you do.thanks and God Bless you @starstrings01

Smiles. I really appreciate you too brother. Thank you

Freshest suit in West Africa

Inspiring content boss

The finest instrumentalist in the whole of africa. Thanks for coming by.

I got value, thanks for all you do.

I hope there are still space under your wings to accommodate me!

Mentor Dami...I hail you 🙇‍♀️🙇‍♀️🙇‍♀️🙇‍♀️

Really nice helping out the new members so they know what works. You have been taught well. Giving back is awesome. Keep up the good work.