Monday Drum Day: Sandy metal

in Drumming22 days ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


I have decided I need to play more songs on the drums as it cannot just be about exercises. This is one I have been wanting to do and I have had some attempts at it before. I am using the Drumeo backing track and notation as usual. They have an 'easy' version of Enter Sandman that I think is about my level, but it still has a few tricky bits. There are lots of hits off the main beat and variations through the song. It is a fairly long one too.

I am conscious that I made plenty of mistakes and got a bit out of time, but this is a log of where I was right now and I hope to improve with more practice. I need to work on certain parts, but this evening I have come home from work and just want to play.

Here is the original for reference. I know Lars is thought to have some faults as a drummer by some people, but he has so much more experience than I do and so can at least get through the songs.

Last week I worked on some Journey for the Drumeo collaboration, but did not get a full video done to submit. I have not seen what the May song will be yet, but I shall have a look when it is announced.

Rock on!


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Enter sandman is a tough nut to crack. There is a video of a jazz drummer hearing it once and playing along. It's pretty impressive.

I suspect that was on Drumeo. It is a fun tune and challenging. I'll come back to it.

Awesome man!! Loved this! Great playing! I've wanted an e-kit for a while :)

Cheers. I like the acoustic kit too, but can't always make that much noise.

Tricky indeed! I agree, getting some not saints under your belt will help immensely!

Did that come out as you intended? I just need to play more to train my brain. It's fun anyway.

Lol. It looks as if I have suffered some autocorrect!!

Que bueno que continúe con los progresos en la batería..

That was a very good playing
I wasn’t in a good mood but I enjoyed it perfectly well