Polish fungi 🇵🇱

in FungiFridaylast year

It is my second week of posting and engaging here on Hive and I must say that I find this environment very complex with so much content and things to explore and because of this also very stimulating.

I have written on 2 different platforms so far and Hive being the 3rd one is fast becoming my favourite. In the past I would struggle with daily writing. Not because I have nothing to say. I love to talk a lot! But somehow I wasn’t very motivated.

This changed drastically since I become serious with Hiving. That’s because engagement here is so much better and daily reading constantly inspires me to write. So many communities, contests and challenges to choose from. Finally the 1000’s of pictures stored in my photo albums have a purpose! I can show them off on Hive and they will forever stay here in the blockchain, where I can leave a mark behind myself.

Back to today’s topic though - mushrooms - the proud members of fungi world. Yesterday, when my friend was scrolling through my photo gallery from my trip to #Poland, she said:

‘You have a real fetish for mushrooms 🍄’

Haha 😂 I’m not sure if I would call it a fetish, but yes, I find these little creatures fascinating and I do take many pictures of them. The more I learn about them, the more my fascination grows and the more I still want to learn. The one above was my friend’s favourite from a batch I sent her while still in Poland. Amanita Muscari - the most famous mushroom of all times. Even Super Mario was a fan of them!

My aunties would always tell me to stay away of them, as they’re poisonous. That’s not the whole truth about these fascinating creatures. In small doses and correctly prepared they have hallucinogenic properties. That’s not something I say from the experience though - I never tried eating them, but I read a lot. Some people also know how to make various healing products from them. Also not something I have learned so far, but who knows - I might try one day 😉

I have written a few articles about mushrooms in the past, but fungi community here is on another level. I love the fact that there are so many members posting weekly from allover the globe. This way I can see the mushrooms I’ve never seen before and continue to learn about this fascinating creatures.

Growing up in Poland, where most people go mushroom picking in season pretty much forced me to learn about them. By force I don’t mean something unpleasant though. It was a very pleasant activity of every summer I spent at my grandparents place.

This and forest berry picking. I loved our family trips to the forests. The area of Poland where I was born is the greenest area of Poland and my grandparents live ‘in the middle of nowhere’ as I like to call it. Surrounded by forests and little lakes in whichever direction you would choose to walk. Although I love these holidays with forests trips, I didn’t realise how lucky I was. I was learning live skills at a very young age without realising it, because it was SO much fun to spend my days in the hunt of edibles abundantly growing in these beautiful forests.

I came to appreciate it more as an adult. The knowledge I gained then stayed untouched and until today I can recognise most edible mushrooms by looking, tasting and smelling them. The sensory experiences always stay with us when we associate them with FUN. The mushroom on the above picture however is a new type that I don’t get to see in English forests. While exploring the forest with my auntie we have seen a huge amounts of them in October.

She told me some people pick them and with the right preparation they are also edible. I don’t know the name of them in English, will have to search for is at some point, but in Polish she called them ‘Sarna’ which directly translates to a deer.

The structure of them is very firm, so they kept themselves well even after a few days of heavy rain, contrary to other edibles that were soaked and almost melted away by the time we got to them. Like this huge Boletus Edulis below:

It would have been such a catch if we have found it earlier. By the time we saw it, it sure had a fascinating shape to it, but underneath the cap was totally soaked and eaten by many creatures. We took a picture of it to enjoy the size, then threw the pieces of it around, so hopefully the spores will spread and more of these beauties will grow on the fertile ground of the forest next season.

Although my knowledge about mushrooms is expansive comparing to an average Joe, I don’t claim to know it all. I still follow the rule ‘if you’re not sure, don’t pick it’.

After all, I don’t want to damage my liver or worse yet - die by consuming one of my beloved members of fungi family. In the cases of unknown mushrooms I might not try eating them, but I still enjoy taking pictures of them. Who knows what I can learn about them once I get some and do some reading. I discovered many new types of edible mushrooms this way.

Mostly my new discoveries are not edible, but they’re still pretty and help our environment in recycling all the dead matter in the forests and meadows.

The one above looked a bit like an Oyster mushroom. Truth be told, I don’t have enough experience in picking these though. I only read about them and ate them bought from the local Chinese shop. Maybe I post this in wild foraging groups I joined on fb to see if anyone can help me identify it. For the time being, I left it to grow untouched in the forest.

The discovery of the season must be Polish ‘Rydz’ above. I knew of them from my dad’s stories, I heard about them from a Polish song about ‘Rudy Rudz’, but somehow I never got to learn how exactly it looks and tastes until this year. I saw some that might have looked like Rydz in English forests, but I didn’t picked any. This year I got first hand experience of identifying it from my auntie. We picked a lot of them and she showed me characteristics helpful in spotting one. Now I am armed in knowledge to recognise one that is edible 😍

Opienka above was another one. My auntie never found one before, but she sounded sure that it is edible, so we picked a few of them. They require a bit longer than usual preparation, which we learned from online forums, but we ate them all and everyone is still alive, so I guess she was right 😉 I wouldn’t advise this approach to newbies into foraging though - it can end up not so well if you try it!

Despite my late arrival in Poland, towards the end of October, our foraging trips were very successful. Each day we found many edible and delicious mushrooms to spoil our senses. I dreamt of finding even one King Bolete and I did! Not as big as those I found earlier back home, but I insisted on frying this one on its own in butter and eating it on my sandwich for supper:

This concludes my first entry into #FungiFriday by @ewkaw . I have tons of mushroom pictures and stories to share, so I will no doubt be joining this fun challenge more often from now on.

For all newbies in Hive, head over to #TheTerminal . It’s a great place to learn all about this platform and meet some new and friendly people to guide you along the way.

Until next time 💙

Sort:  

Very nice collection of mushrooms

Thank you 💙

Bloody hell girl, way to endear yourself immediately to me on HIVE - talk about mushrooms! Here's a footer you can use just for you and I put in one of your mushroom pictures. You can copy and paste the picture onto your fungi posts.

I spent far too long on this post trying to identify some of your edibles. The last spikey kinda one, maybe a type of honey fungus? And google lens suggests that the big one that translates to 'deer' in polish could be a type of shingled hedgehog?

https://www.gone71.com/scaly-or-shingled-hedgehog-sarcodon-imbricatus/

I'm in Australia so you missed all my excited mushroom posts and have to wait til my Autumn. I was getting so obsessed I was posting aobut them like once a day and everyone was teasing me.

And yes amanita muscaria are edible but you got to boil and drain the water like three times then you can fry them up. Funnily enough that came via a Polish aunt, not blood aunt, but nonetheless. And my German Nana used to do it too. I have a heap in alchohol at the mo as a pain reliever though I've had no real cause to try it yet. Nor have i drunk the tea, again, it all seems so complicated when people talk about dosage that I've been a bit scared off.

Footer Copy-1 (1).jpg

YOu said you're in ENgland? Whereabouts?

And welcome to hive - been here for years and love it. Passionately.

OMG!!! You’re the sweetest 😍 Thank you so much for this banner. It truly warms my heart that you took time to create it for me (wipes wet eyes). I will save it and use on all my mushrooms posts with pride! I have SO many mushrooms pictures and been posting them for years across different platforms, but I’ve never found as fertile ground for them as in this amazing Fungi community here. It makes all the effort in taking and editing pictures very worth it 😍

I can’t believe you took your time to go and research the name for me too! I also have an app for it, so I’ll compare your findings with that app and tag you in one of my future posts with my findings too. It feels so exciting to find people as obsessed with mushrooms as I am. When Friday comes, I wish there were more hours in a day to read all mushrooms blogs of people in the community.

Mushrooms have a way of getting into our head I feel. It’s like once you ate them once, you’re forever connected to the mycelium and they call out to you! Like now… I wanted to have a chilled Sunday indoors, but sun is shining and I think I need to go the forest 😂 No kidding - when season starts, they show up in my dreams, calling me to come and find them!

I feel the same with the Amanita. Whenever I want to try, I start reading instructions and my head is spinning 😵‍💫 Why don’t I manifest meeting someone who already knows how to prepare them and invite me for an Amanita dinner with extra effect? I wouldn’t mind if he was handsome and smelled good too 😂

I am on the south on England- Southampton.

Thank you again for such a warm welcome into Hive community 💙

Oh wow it's like talking to a mirror!!! I dream of fungi all season. And that's exactly how I feel about amanita! I think there's a book or two out but yeah a dinner party would be awesome!!

I know Southampton. My ex (biological father of my son, now 25) lives in Lymington. And I lived in Throop near Briantspuddle near Wareham for four years. 🍄💚

I will whip up something for Fungi Friday for you!!

This is amazing 🤩 I felt exactly the same way since the first post of yours I read! I love being in love at the first sight (or a read or a dance) 😍

I worked in Lymington for a while, also the company I work for now is joining with a company from Lymington. They’re moving under our roof.

I am looking forward to that post for sure 💙

Hey, how do I use this banner? I didn't attach this to my newer posts, cause I don't know how 🤦‍♀️

You just copy and paste it to the bottom of your posts 🍄🍄🍄

Thank you. Will that work on mobile? I tried that and it saved in a weird format that I couldn’t open later. For the terminal I just paste the code.
Let me try it here:

Edit: Cool, that worked 😁

You can never miss out on this platform because you get to be more inspired to write and even save your articles on the blockchain which you can access anytime you want. That is the beauty of Hive and I love it here too. I have been so much active for some months here and it keeps me active more as I do not want to leave for a sec 😁😁 but one has to rest to begin again.

Though I have seen mushrooms, I have never tasted them before. When I get one, I might try preparing it and see how it taste.

You should definitely try them one day. There are so many different varieties and smells and tastes 😍

One other thing I really love about Hive os that it rewards effort I put into writing. In rc I had to be weary of how long my article is, as not many people were keen on reading long ones. Here I can let all the worries go and write to my hearts desire 😍💙

You are right! There are people who are ready to even read longer as long as there are pictures talking about each. And yes, Hive rewards beautiful article through whales and other generous people here. Hive is awesome in that aspect. 🥰🥰🥰
I will definitely try it someday.

That red mushroom is really cute. Never seen a real one before in my entire life

Come visit Europe J! I'll take you for a mushroom picking adventure 😁😍💙

Let me ask a question, are you new here? If so, then welcome here on hive! I am also new here and I only have published few articles. I remember you are also a writer on readcash. ⊂((・▽・))⊃

Hi Sydney, yes I’m relatively new here. I signed up last year, but I only started posting and interacting here last month.

Welcome to Hive 👋💙

What nickname did you use on read? Are you still active there?

For sure Hive has a thriving fungi world. So many cool posts to browse through and you made a bang from this entry.

So, we have a seasoned #FungiLover here. Have you ever tried those trippy ones? 😉 You know what I mean... 😁

Btw, love that texture on top of the big 'Sarna' one. ❤

!PIZZA
!HBIT

Definitely a #FungiLover !!! I haven't tried the trippy ones... yet 😈🤣😜

I love this community here. So inspiring and so amazing to discover other types of mushrooms from other continents. There are 100's I've never seen before!

Not exactly a #FungiLover without trying the trippy ones. 😏

Haha 😂 I will try the trippy ones this year, I promise! My friend already promised me some, although she said the best experience is when you try it outside in a nice weather, so I might leave it till next summer 😉

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@ifarmgirl(4/5) tipped @fantagira (x1)
pravesh0 tipped fantagira (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza!

You have a real fetish for mushrooms

Hahaha she didn't see the community yet, did she? :D

Nie ma to jak Polskie lasy, szczególnie w tym roku. Byłam we wrzeniu i nigdy tyle przeróżnych grzybów rosnących obok siebie nie widziałam. Niesamowity widok.
Czekamy na więcej i witamy na Hive. Fajnie, że Ci się tu podoba :)

Nope! She won’t see it neither, as she doesn’t like reading much 😂 She also wouldn’t eat those mushrooms unless I camouflaged it into some nice dish.

Hej! Dzieki 😁 Ja juz dlugo w Polsce na grzybobraniu nie bylam, ale w tym roku z ciotka sie fotkami wymienialysmy i mowi, ze fajnie by bylo razem po lasach poganiac, wiec wsiadlam w samochod i pojechalam 😁

Dzieki za mile powitanie 💙

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @hive-15966.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

What a beautiful collection of mushrooms!
Awesome
And the Amanita is lovely 🍄

Aww 🥰 Thank you for stopping by and checking out my post 💙


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @fantagira ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Awesome Monika , I forgot how much you liked mushrooms :)

Ahh yes! I finally found a place with many fungi fascinated people around. I absolutely love it 😍💙

Oh my, my... You have seen a lot of fungi indeed and the Boletus Edulis is huge! Glad you have found another community that you'd enjoy :)
!PIZZA

Oh yes sis, I love it here 😍 I really should have joined here earlier, but I love to procrastinate 😂💙

The important thing is you're here now and loving it :)
I can relate with Mr. P (procrastination) taking our focus from time to time, !LOLZ

Ernesto in all of us 😂😂😂

Congratulations @fantagira! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 800 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.
You made more than 300 comments.
Your next target is to reach 400 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

CBRS Hive Infographic Contest - Get your badge and win 1000 HIVE
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!