Funeral Bell (Galerina Marginata), Deadly Mushroom Visited Me.

in FungiFriday7 months ago (edited)

A few years ago, I was trying to spot a poisonous mushroom so I could compare it with other "little brown mushrooms," thinking that it would give me more confidence in eating the edible ones. And this year, it visited me in my garden! Possibly wanted to be shown off it's dangerous beauty!

I walked past a bunch of mushrooms growing in my rose tree plant pot and planned to make breakfast out of them. At first glance, they looked like my favorite velvet shank mushrooms. I thought they were a bit early this year. As we all know, we have to be careful with those 'little brown mushrooms.'

With excitement and the thought of scraping those yummy garlic-stir-fried mushrooms on top of my sourdough bread, I went back to examine them so I could harvest. They were bigger, prestine and very inviting to harvest. I checked and I was gobsmacked when I identified them as the 'Funeral Bell,' and yes, it can really be confused with velvet shank if not careful. I was thankful that I was cautious before I chomped on it or it could have been a disaster. I could have been poisoned! Never be too confident or too sure when it comes to mushrooms. Always follow the rule that unless you are 100% certain of a mushroom's edibility, you should not consume it. It's essential to exercise extreme caution.

So here you are Gallerina, your wish has come true!

Galerina marginata, commonly known as the "Funeral Bell" also "Deadly Galerina," or "Deadly Skull Caps, is a small, brown mushroom that belongs to the genus Galerina. It is important to note that this mushroom is highly toxic and should never be consumed. Here are some key features to help you identify Gallerina marginata with photo's taken today.

The cap of Gallerina marginata is usually small, typically between 1 to 4 centimeters in diameter. It is convex to bell-shaped and often has a distinctive, dark brown to reddish-brown color. The cap surface can be striate, meaning it has radial grooves.

The cap is slimy when wet and can become paler in patches when it dries out. The edge is lighter than the center of the cap and slightly lined, which is why it's called "marginata."

The gills of Gallerina marginata are closely spaced, attached to the stem, and may have a brownish to rusty brown color.

The stem is typically slender, ranging from 4 to 10 centimeters in length. It is often a similar color to the cap but may have a paler, whitish or grayish base.


The stem can be fragile and may have a delicate ring or annulus.

The spore print of Gallerina marginata is brown. This spore print is done by me from the above mushroom. ( Place the mushroom cap with gills down on a white paper covered with a glass. leave overnight, I left mine for 3 days).

These mushrooms are commonly found in dense clusters on decaying wood, such as fallen trees, logs, and stumps. They can also grow on woody debris buried in soil.

Gallerina marginata contains deadly toxins, including amatoxins, which can cause severe liver and kidney damage if ingested. Mistaking it for edible mushrooms, such as certain species of agarics, can lead to poisoning.

I will be patiently waiting for my favourite Velvet Shank (Filomena Velutipes) soon to appear.

Have a wonderful Day. Enjoy your mushroom hunting, and I wish you a safe and successful season.

Mariah 💚🍄!

https://www.fungusfactfriday.com/124-galerina-marginata/

Sort:  

Hi @theworldaroundme,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @theworldaroundme.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

It's good that you were cautious with this mushroom, if you had eaten it, you would be poisoned dear friend @theworldaroundme
However, I must admit that it is a beautiful and very striking mushroom, its name is really scary.
I appreciate you sharing your suggestions, knowledge and experience.
Have a beautiful weekend

Thank you Sir, it is indeed a very scary mushroom. I really appreciate your comment, enjoy the rest of your day. 😊

Source of potential text plagiarism

Plagiarism is the copying & pasting of others' work without giving credit to the original author or artist. Plagiarized posts are considered fraud. Fraud is discouraged by the community and may result in the account being Blacklisted.
Guide: Why and How People Abuse and Plagiarise

If you believe this comment is in error, please contact us in #appeals in Discord.

Hello, sorry I did not copy anyone's work. I will contact.

Can you please assist? I am accepting the invite but not allowing me in, in discord.

Hello.

Thank you for letting us know

To confirm your authorship of the content, could you please add the link to your Hive blog in your article:

https://www.fungusfactfriday.com/124-galerina-marginata/

You can remove this mention, once we confirm the authorship.

Thank you.

Done. I can see why, my spore print is similar to the link you gave. As they are same type of mushroom their spore print colour is the same but if you look, there is a diference in details. Could you please kindly remove the plagiarism message as it is not inspiring me to post more good content. Thank you.

Thanks for your contribution to the STEMsocial community. Feel free to join us on discord to get to know the rest of us!

Please consider delegating to the @stemsocial account (85% of the curation rewards are returned).

You may also include @stemsocial as a beneficiary of the rewards of this post to get a stronger support. 
 

Congratulations @theworldaroundme! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 200 replies.
Your next target is to reach 300 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the October PUM Winners
Feedback from the November Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - October 2023 Winners List
Loading...