E X P A N S I O N

in FungiFriday3 months ago (edited)

Bzzz!

Putrefaction (Putrefactio) - is a process common to all organic remains in nature, returning them to unorganized reserves, ie in the soil and air under the combined influence of moisture, air, heat and other natural, everywhere occurring conditions.

Winter is coming to an end, and with it the firewood supply. I have enough to keep me warm enough to welcome the spring, but yesterday I noticed that I am not the only one who likes my stockpiles....

This old cabinet is in the outbuilding of the house, and I have adapted it for storing chopped firewood. It is under a shed at the very entrance to the house, so it is convenient for me to store fuel there so that I can quickly access it when needed.

Part of the firewood I procure by cutting dry wood from the surrounding plantings, but since I live in a steppe area and the competition in dry firewood is great this fall did not manage to procure enough for the whole winter. That's why I had to buy some firewood from local poachers. They often cut down live raw trees to feed their families, or to avoid the risk of liability - they bring frankly rotten wood. I can understand their situation, but I do not accept this approach to the environment - our home, so I cooperated with them for the last time

Once again dragging the necessary portion of firewood for the stove I paid attention to the actively developing fungus. It was because some of the wood was damp, аnd we've had plus temperatures for the past two weeks, which combine to encourage active fungi and mold growth. This is not a big problem when it comes to firewood, but I thought it was an interesting topic for a post.

After taking firewood to the house I came back here with a camera to shoot the process of mold conquering the living space.
Because of the poor lighting in the barn, I spent quite a long time trying to make sharp shots, and then more, selecting the best of the series and doing color correction

The black soot color of this charred stump on the outside contrasts perfectly with the whiteness of the thin tentacles of mold spreading across it.
It immediately caught my eye, as did the variety of species of lifeforms.

With my layman's biologist's eye, I could count at least three species of organisms. Maybe you are more observant and count more, I would be glad to learn something new.

These two shots, if they didn't give off a natural yellowing, could have been confused with snowy mountain landscapes.
The photo from above looks like a deep ice crevasse, the bottom of which is impossible to reach alive.
The photo below is like the edge of the earth. Densely snow-covered, crumbling with the centuries pieces of chipping rock falling into the abyss.

On this isolated island of life, formerly a piece of pear tree, real fruit has already grown. They are quite tiny, but that is what makes them special.

This is the general view of this tiny clearing. Taking into account the external absence of mycelium, we can assume that the mushrooms sprouted through the bark, as if they grew from under the ground

I took this board in my hands and walked closer to the dim lamp to facilitate autofocus, twisted it from all angles to find the best angles and look under the shroom skirt...

What I'm getting at is that in addition to having to cut wood, bring it home and chop it, there is competition for its use.
I have a negative attitude towards the destruction of any form of life, so I feel a little remorse burning wood that someone else is already living on)))

Camera Nikon Coolpix W300
Winter 2024 | Ukraine
!only original content your find in my blog!

And this gif of my ducklings swimming. 🦆


80pli5.png

banner and feather divider created by @barbara-orenya


image.png

Trade conveniently on HiveDex.io.

Thanks to @Mahdiyari!


horizontal.svg

I wish you all a peaceful sky above your head and stable soil under your feet! Take care of yourself and your loved ones so that we can meet again in the hive!!

Sort:  

Congratulations @unmuted! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 4250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the January PUM Winners
Feedback from the February Hive Power Up Day

Gaining momentum!

Absolutely! Your progress is truly inspiring. Keep up the great work @unmuted!